jump to navigation

Kind of non sequitur – don’t do tattoos! September 16, 2013

Posted by Tantumblogo in abdication of duty, asshatery, Basics, disaster, error, foolishness, General Catholic, sadness, secularism, silliness, Society.
trackback

Before I begin, there is a bit of suggestive material below.  You might want to skip the whole thing!

I happen to be the kind of guy who doesn’t appreciate tattoos.  I mean, if you’re a dude in the military, especially some elite branch, and you’ve been through some very heavy stuff and sort of need to vent (that is, you got mind-blowingly drunk for 72 hours straight while on liberty in Perth/Fremantle, and you woke up with your back covered in ink) I rather get it.  Or if you got your fraternity letters tattood on your ankle in college – well, not the best choice, but not a hugey.  Our body is after all a temple given us by God, and I’m not sure that marking it up with ink of questionable “artistic” content does much honor to our Creator.

But where I’ve always really had a problem with tattoos is on women.  That’s always been just an absolute ender for me.  It just screams a whole bunch of things, none of which are positive.  I get that there are a lot of people – far too many people – nowadays who make bad decisions in their youth, and then their stuck with the effects of those decisions forever.  Because tattoos, “removed” or not (and even if you get them removed, then you’re left with a terrible scar) are forever.  That’s a whole different situation.  A different kind of feeling bad.  But with the increasing number of women who get just plastered with tacky tattoos and are all “out and proud” about them, just broadcasting them to the world, it’s like an electronic billboard blinking “Inquire further about my massive issues!”

I’m not being very nice.  I’m sure your tattoos are deeply meaningful and of impeccable artistic quality – I didn’t know Velasquez worked in skin ink!

Even The New Yorker, that paragon of leftism, gets it:

eric-lewis-subtext-of-all-tattoos-new-yorker-cartoon_2

Some other possible subtexts:

A related subtext might be: “I come from a long line of rash decisionmakers.” On women, tattoos often seem to imply: “Pay attention to me because I, obviously, make poor choices, so you might get lucky.”

I’m not really trying to be mean, I actually do have a serious point, which this guy gets. Tattoos are more than just a fad in very bad taste gone out of control, they are another sign of the collapse of morality and the Christian civilization:

The increased popularity of tattoos and other forms of body decoration are visual reminders of the gradual decline of civilization in the West. Like music and art, personal decor is indicative of the long term societal trend. It’s more than a fad, it is a sign of the descent into savagery.

Indeed, many of the barbarous, non-Christian societies of the past, and the present day, practice(d) extensive body marking/mutiliation. It is virtually a hallmark of lower-level societies. 50 years ago – no, 30 years ago – tattoos were only had by a some in the military, sailors, and people on the very lowest levels of society.  Now, they are incredibly widespread.

My thoughts could just be an example of older generation fretting about the craziness of today’s “youths,” but I don’t think so.  For one thing, my generation started this nonsense back in the 90s.  Secondly, until the protestant revolt, and, especially, the “enlightenment” rationalism that followed inevitably in its wake, social standards in Christendom were quite static. You did not see massive variations from generation to generation.  And, even in this country and others that have gone over to the cult of enlightenment-derived “liberty,” the collapse in morality was initially quite slow, as it took a while to sluff off the inherited traditions of Christendom.  But now, we see with ever increasing speed, tendencies towards immorality, low culture, intellectual stultification, and general civilizational collapse that are increasing at a geometric rate as the years pass by.

Today, we essentially have little or no culture left, unless one wants to count Jerry Springer, Kim Kardasian, Miley Cyrus, modern/post-modern “art,” and all the rest of the trainwreck.

Count me out.

Comments

1. Raul De La Garza III (@raul_delagarza) - September 16, 2013

Y’know…that is one sad thing I’ve noted as I’ve walked around in the local discount department store of no little fame here in G’ville is the incredible number of folks who have tattoos. Here. In G’ville of all places! It really is surprising to me and a bit depressing. I suppose the next time I get down about this, I’ll have to listen to this masterful parody by Weird Al:

At once, he makes fun of the original song and at the same time produces an entertaining critique concerning this part of our post modern society.

2. TG - September 16, 2013

I agree. I personally hate tattoos on both men and women. It’s getting worse. They tattoos are getting bigger and everywhere on the body. (I saw a woman at Mass yesterday with a big tattoo on the side of her leg.) So tacky and classless. You’re right at one time, it was just bikers and lower class now it’s mainstream. Same with womens’ fashions. What use to be seen on prostitutes is now mainstream.

3. LaGallina - September 17, 2013

I had a really great reason to get this tattoo of a dragon on my arm. I wanted to make sure everyone in my social scene knew just how cool I was back in 1994. I were so cutting edge. I was a rebel. I wasn’t afraid to break all of society’s oppressive Judeo-Christian rules.

My friends and I were really mutilating ourselves back in the nineties.(And I was perfectly emotionally healthy. But it wasn’t cool to be emotionally healthy, so I pretended otherwise.) I’m so horrified to see that everybody has a tattoo now. They really are tacky. And the facial piercings are everywhere.

I worry about my precious little daughters. “Don’t grow up to do the dumb things your mother did, girls.”

4. David - September 18, 2013

A case in point…I finished EMT school and began running on an ambulance in 1989 (OK, I’m old). I had one fire lieutenant who had been in the Navy, and had a tattoo. With the exception of one guy I worked with who had a brand from his fraternity (no joke), that was it – two guys with permanent markings.

Nowadays, the EMS and fire journals began publishing columns from their leaders about how tattoos have become a problem. Many EMT’s and paramedics (as well as police officers and firefighters) have a hard time covering up tattoos properly in uniform. That wasn’t a problem when I began in 1989, even though five years later I moved on to something else.

tantamergo - September 18, 2013

Getting branded is a black thang. Omega Psi Phi is famous for it, Sigma Kappa Epsilon also does it.

Had a good friend in engineering school who got branded – it supposed to smell like bacon.

David - September 19, 2013

Tantamergo, looks like you and I sometimes think alike. I worked at a chemical plant with a guy who was an Omega Psi Phi. He had gone to Paul Quinn College (before it merged with another college), and he had two brands – an Omega on each arm. His brands were hard to cover up when he wore short sleeves.

I had another co-worker who was a Kappa Alpha Psi – I was pretty shocked the day he showed me his brand. Kappa Alpha Psi is also a well known black fraternity.

I was in a local fraternity at one small college I attended (I did not pledge a national fraternity). One of my fraternity brothers got a tattoo of the fraternity crest on his right shoulder.

5. David - September 18, 2013

While a small tattoo around a woman’s ankle might be tasteful (and discrete), I agree that many tattoos on women are a distraction. Try going to a beach (particularly in Florida and California), and many of the ladies under 30 have tattoos.

I have even seen on an online dating site (by the way, this is a Catholic Dating Site) where the questionaire asked about tattoos and piercings.. For the record, many of the single ladies between 30 and 45 answer “no, never” for tattoos and “just my ears” for piercings, which is nice. However, my point is 15 years ago, these questions would not need to be asked.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

