jump to navigation

Reader sends: lovely NY church June 30, 2014

Posted by Tantumblogo in Art and Architecture, awesomeness, Basics, Christendom, General Catholic, Glory, Grace, Latin Mass, Liturgical Year, persecution, sanctity, Spiritual Warfare, Tradition, true leadership, Virtue.
trackback

A reader sent in the following photos of St. Paul’s parish in Manhattan after a recent trip there. I asked the reader if this parish is also under threat of closure by the NY Archdiocese, but I have not as yet heard back.  Still, another old church that could serve as a guide and example for future church builds, if only the will can be found to reunite with our Catholic heritage/Tradition:

P1010272

P1010245

P1010246

P1010252

P1010253

P1010255

That’s what I’m talking about.  Nice baldacinno.  I know I mispelled that.

At first, I thought there was no table altar, but then I saw it, not only in front of the high altar, but also in front of the Communion rail.  Uff da that is so tragic, all those glorious altars and they are rarely (probably never) used!

Nevertheless, much to recommend here. I’m not well versed enough in architectural styles to tell what kind this church is, but I know what I like, and I like much of this.

Speaking of the St. Paul, yesterday was the Feast of the Holy Apostles Saints Peter and Paul.  Here is a sermon from that Feast:

I did not know what a monster the sorcerer Simom Magus of Acts of the Apostles was.

Why indeed did those springs dry up?  Interesting, is it not?

Also a good demonstration above of correcting superiors in charity.  How or whether to engage in fraternal correction of others is a topic that has come up recently in the comments, especially in light of the exhortations of many Saints and books of spirituality to maintain a humble, meek interior life, which strives to excuse the faults of others and focus on our own faults. I tried to explain how and when to engage in correction while keeping the practice of virtue, but there was a sermon yesterday that does a much better job of examining this matter of correction.  As soon as that sermon comes up on Audio or  Video Sancto, I will post it, because I think it encapsulates well how to navigate those difficult waters.

Please say three Aves for the priest in the sermon.  I have at times forgotten to ask for prayers for the priests in the sermons I post, but it is always an act of charity that we should pray for all priests, especially those who especially edify us.

Comments

1. Anonymous - June 30, 2014

That’s the mother church of the Paulist Fathers. The society was founded by Fr. Isaac Hecker, a Redemptorist. His remains lie there and I believe they’ve opened his cause for canonization. Pray for them.

2. luis - July 1, 2014

If so, that would make it rather a bad church. I believe that the Paulists were heretical in an obscure way from the beginning. I suggest anyone avoid them.

3. Christopher Ekstrom - July 1, 2014

Holy Innocents, the sole Manhattan Church to offer daily Latin Mass, is also to be closed. Father George Rutler was made administrator of Holy Innocents after his side-lining by Cardinal Dolan. Let’s all pray that Cardinal Dolan be kicked upstairs to the Vatican; perhaps to the Vatican Bank! Dolan is an absolute DISASTER as “American pope”. He is an utterly failed-politician & has attacked traditional priests under the false guise of “making things new”. Rather, Cardinal Dolan is making RC’s irrelevant! Bring Archbishop Chaput to the Archdiocese of NY! It’s too important to be left to an empty suite like Dolan.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry