jump to navigation

No rest for the wicked at Casa de Tantumblogo July 20, 2015

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin, blogfoolery, Domestic Church, family, fun, General Catholic, non squitur.
trackback

Bit of a non sequitur personal post. You may wonder what I do on weekends.  Lately, I build things for my kids. In addition to a chicken coop and rabbit hutch, I’ve been working on this fort for the last 6 weeks or so:

20150719_151046

20150719_151105

20150719_151132

20150719_151141

20150719_151218

For the statisticians – 6′ wide x 6.5′ long x 12.5′ tall. All pressure treated pine construction.  Frame of 4x4s and 2x6s.  Made from scratch, no plans. Decided against a swingset, for reasons I can’t recall.  It’s mostly done now save for closing in the open ends on each side and a few other details.  The kids seem to like it.  They plan on turning it into a private clubhouse.  They may even sleep out there when it stops being 100 degrees.

No TV can be a boon to productivity.  We had a birthday party Saturday and it was a hit with the 4-10 year old boy crowd.

That made me pretty happy.

Comments

1. Margaret Costello - July 20, 2015

F.U.N.! Awesome fort:+) On behalf of the kid in all of us, thank you:+) God bless~

Baseballmom - July 20, 2015

Amen 😀

2. pablothemexican - July 21, 2015

That slide for making a hasty retreat for when the Jewish Freemasons show up is a nice touch.

3. Ever mindful - July 21, 2015

Takes a carpenter to appreciate the Carpenter

4. Jeremy Franklin - July 21, 2015

Awesome job!!. My 6 kids are all under 8 and would love something like that. I just may have to do the same. Pax

Tantumblogo - July 21, 2015

Hey if you do talk to me I had no plans but I think I came up with a pretty simple way to construct the frame. It’s just a set of three boxes, basically, attached to the posts. So I could build the bottom deck out and much of the mid-deck (“2nd floor”) beforehand, and then run the posts through the mid-deck and heave it into place on the bottom deck. I think it saved a fair amount of time, but did require 3 big men to lift into place (wish it had been four, it was two on the other side and one (me) on mine).

One mistake I made: I used lag screws to join the frame to the posts. I should have used carriage bolts. They tighten more than screws.

5. Agellius - July 21, 2015

Nice. With treated wood that should last for 50 years.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

