jump to navigation

Father Corapi back/active in the priesthood?!?!? September 2, 2015

Posted by Tantumblogo in disconcerting, General Catholic, Interior Life, manhood, pr stunts, priests, sadness, scandals, shocking, Society.
trackback

This is not a post I expected to ever make.  But Matt Abbot, who broke a lot of news during the original fall of Fr. Euteneuer and had many insights into the Corapi situation as it unfolded – or fell apart – during 2011 apparently  quoting reliable sources who claim Fr. Corapi is somehow (I know not how) back in the priesthood in a very private manner.  Yes I know once a priest always a priest, spiritually, but this man deliberately left his order and took up living as a “civilian” for a while, so that’s why I use the term “back.”  See what you make of this:

A bit of good news to share: A reliable source has informed me that Father John Corapi, a popular priest among orthodox Catholics who departed public life after a tumultuous period a few years ago, remains in the priesthood and is re-establishing his spiritual life. [What does that mean?  Is he offering Mass privately or?  Does he have faculties?  Is he in a monastery?  I have no idea]

There’s no indication he’ll be returning to public life anytime soon, if ever. However, it’s nice to know that Father Corapi can at least be a quiet prayer warrior during this extremely difficult time in the Church and world. [I guess, but I’ve been burned once regarding alleged Corapi sightings and will take this with a rather large grain of salt]

I won’t go into the particulars about what transpired in the past – it’s water under the bridge – and I’m sure there’s information on the Internet (some of it more reliable than other information, obviously) for those who may not be familiar with the situation. Plus, those who really didn’t pay attention to him in the first place likely don’t care one way or the other about his current status.

The bottom line is that we all are wounded and spiritually/morally fall often (I know I do!). We just have to try our best to keep moving forward in faith in this “valley of tears.” A very difficult task, I must say. That doesn’t mean condoning moral corruption or remaining silent about it, but we all need God’s mercy.

Well that’s certainly charitable but it also seems a bit of a whitewash.  The wheels came flying off spectacularly from late 2010 till the final shutdown of “Black Sheepdog” in 2012.  It’s a bit odd seeing a Renew America author try to sort of just spin that very visible fall away when some of the harshest coverage of Corapi came from…….Renew America.  I’m sure it’s being done for a good reason.

Personally, if Corapi is in some kind of ministry or living his priestly life again, I pray it remains very quiet and very far from the limelight. It might be consoling for souls, after he is well-established (again?) in his piety and interior life to send out a brief note to souls to tamp down potential speculation – assuming this report is true.  I’ve seen what a firestorm Corapi speculation can ignite.  If there are going to be hints of his rehabilitation – we know not whether this little tidbit comes with his knowledge and approval, or not – would it perhaps be prudent for he and/or his superiors to let his status be known and that he won’t be renewing public ministry (which probably isn’t even a possibility, given the cloud of accusations under which he left the priesthood in the first place).

As for me, I’ve really moved on.  Fr. Corapi played a substantial role in helping me understand a relatively orthodox view of the Faith during the early part of my conversion, and his stories played a small part in inspiring me to bend my will to the Faith and change my life (Grace was the dominant part, of course, among many other factors).  But even before his “implosion” I was already feeling like I had grown past his spiel, for the most part.  I think he served a great role in edifying and consoling souls at a certain place in their spiritual life.  There are other priests out there who – I believe, and pray – have helped advance my, and many other’s,  spirituality to another level.

Nevertheless, as said above, I think, no matter what, that kind of public role is all in the past.  I’d be very surprised to see him in public ministry again, and it would raise a flock of questions.

 

Comments

1. Branch - September 2, 2015

I’m curious how you saw his spiel and what you mean by another level.

Tantumblogo - September 2, 2015

First several years of his apostolate he had a series expanding on the Catechism. That was very helpful to me. Used to be on EWTN radio every day. It was thoroughly post-conciliar, but that was just right for me at the time.

By 2009 I started going to some of his conferences, after he came back from his first sabbatical. I went to 3. They contained very much the same content. By the last one I went to in late 2010, shortly before the whole sad fracas developed, I really something was amiss. He still had the conversion story but was talking much more about his motorcycles, trainer “Gina,” guns, boats, working out, etc. It was much more materialistic and worldly than his early material. And even the early material had worked its effect, and I didn’t sense a sort of follow-on or growth to new depths like I continually do with, say, traditional priests. Certainly being heavily exposed to any priest over a period of years, one will probably start to get to the point of repetition on some things, but I got to where I felt I had heard almost all of it before. So that’s what I meant.

2. Lynne - September 2, 2015

I hope the best for him and that his own soul is saved. He did enough to help many of us back in the day.

3. Baseballmom - September 2, 2015

Absolutely he should never be a public figure again. Insanity is doing the same thing over again and expecting different results (I keep having milkshakes and thinking it won’t go to the hips…this time…). Celebrity is dangerous enough for one who has NOT fallen….

4. Kathleen - September 2, 2015

What lovely news!

I have kept (and will continue to keep) Fr. Corapi in my prayers.

His fall was tragic.

I wasn’t a “follower” of his, but I did admire his bold defense of orthodox teachings and it could be easily seen that he had done a great deal of good.

Constant flattery on the scale that goes with some level of significant fame is a terrible trial for a soul. I would not want to face it.

May God bless Fr. Corapi and protect him from evil!

5. Louis C. Gasper - September 2, 2015

Your headline — “back/active in the priesthood” — goes far beyond the report. From “re-establishing his spiritual life” and “quiet prayer warrior,” one cannot infer more than that Fr Corapi is perhaps daily reciting the Divine Office (oops! — Liturgy of the Hours).

I don’t see how the report “hints at his rehabilitation.” It hints — at most — at the recovery of his spirituality, not the rehabilitation of his ministry. If his ministry is not an immediate matter, there’s no reason for him or his superiors to say anything about it.

Tantumblogo - September 2, 2015

Maybe I got it from this:

http://monk2be.com/fr-john-corapi-has-returned-to-the-faith/

But I think it’s a bit pedantic to argue the point. The quote says “remains in the priesthood” – given that he left the priesthood (without, to my knowledge, any laicization efforts from his superiors or Rome) “remaining” was a questionable item. I’d say if he’s saying Mass or acting like a priest in other ways – he did not for some time, by his own admission during the Black Sheepdog days – that would constitute “back.” But whatever. I’m not going to die on this hill, we don’t even know if ANY of the above is true, it’s one report from a guy at the same outfit that was calling for him to spend the rest of his life quietly praying in a monastery a few years back.

6. Cristero - September 2, 2015

Well, considering the life I have lived, and the graces I have received, I’m all about wishing Fr. Corapi the very best if he is serious this time.

Gotta’ say that I was just never surprised at what happened with him. If anyone has ever heard of him adequately defending Extra Ecclesiam Nulla Salus please let us know. I repeatedly witnessed examples of his comments that suggested that this was not something he would go to the mat on. And I had a brief personal encounter with him once that served to further suggest that. So I think I’ll reserve the term “orthodox” for other priests for the time being. I think we can have patience with and understanding of priests who have not yet grasped this dogma I was taught as a youngster, but I do not think we can overlook it.

So, yes, may God bless Father Corapi and protect him from evil.

Boniface - September 2, 2015

I want to see father Corapi at a conference back in 2004. Even back then, I noticed he talked a lot about his private cabin, his guns, possessions, etc. Although certainly not as much as in later years

7. Christopher Ekstrom - September 3, 2015

I seem to have a fair sense of fraudulent individuals. Corapi always rubbed me the wrong way. I simply didn’t like him. If he is preforming Priestly functions he should be subject to extreme scrutiny. Otherwise a monastery is the best place for this dubious individual.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

