jump to navigation

Special Prayer to St. Joseph after Rosary (and the sorrows and joys of St. Joseph) November 12, 2015

Posted by Tantumblogo in awesomeness, Basics, catachesis, Domestic Church, family, General Catholic, Glory, Good St. Joseph, Grace, Interior Life, Saints, sanctity, Spiritual Warfare, Tradition, Virtue.
trackback

For a long time early in this blog’s days I tried to encourage readers to foster a devotion to St. Joseph.  I cannot stress the degree to which that great Saint’s intercession has helped me, and in how many ways.  I consider St. Joseph, along with the prayers of my wife and her download (24)departed mother, as the prime means by which I got clean.  I haven’t shared my getting clean and conversion story much, as far as getting clean, when I finally did in 2007 I was not looking to get clean.  Really a miracle, I suffered very few withdrawals, quitting opioids was  something that more happened to me as a work of Grace, rather than anything I did.  St. Joseph, I am convinced, played a huge role in that.

Of course, good St. Joseph has done far more than that for your not humble enough blogger.  I like to think I have become a far, far better father than I was through the intercession of the foster father of the Lord. I think his intercession has made me a much better man. Certainly his intercession has been vital in my attempts to become a better Catholic. I think he speaks through this blog, in a sense.

So I’ve been remiss in not doing sharing more devotions to St. Joseph over the past 3 years or so.  I’ve been privately using prayers from a nice book of St. Joseph prayers for a while, but for some reason failed to share any with you.  Even though November is not exactly a month dedicated to Our Lady’s chaste spouse and protector, I thought no better time than the present.

The prayer is a beautiful meditation and imprecation to St. Joseph to be prayed after completing a Rosary. I think it very appropriate for this particular time in the history of the Church. After that, I include the seven sorrows and joys particular to St. Joseph. I pray you find this post edifying and helpful!

To thee, O blessed Joseph, do we have recourse in our tribulation, and having implored the help of thy thrice-holy Spouse, we confidently invoke thy patronage also.

By that charity wherewith thou wast united to the Immaculate Virgin Mother of God, and by that fatherly affection with which thou didst embrace the Child Jesus, we beseech thee and we humbly pray that thou wouldst look graciously upon the inheritance which Jesus Christ has purchased by His Blood, and assist us in our needs by thy power and strength.

Most watchful Guardian of the Holy Family, protect the chosen people of Jesus Christ. Keep far from us, most loving Father, all blight of error and corruption.  Mercifully assist us from Heaven, most mighty defender, in this our conflict with the powers of darkness; and even as of old thou didst rescue the Child Jesus from the supreme peril of His life, so now defend God’s Holy Church from the snares of the enemy and from all adversity.  Keep us one and all under thy continual protection, that, supported by thine example and thine assistance, we may be enabled to live a holy life, die a happy death, and come at last to the possession of everlasting blessedness in Heaven.  

Amen.

I do wonder a bit about prayers that invoke protection from “all adversity.”  Are we not to take up our cross and follow Jesus?  St. Alphonsus says that salvation without suffering is impossible.  So perhaps consider that in the sense of the state of the Church today, where finding the path to sanctity is so difficult, and not in the broad sense of literally all adversity.

 

images (11)

The Seven Sorrows of St. Joseph:

  1. The doubt of St. Joseph (Matt i:19)
  2. The poverty of Jesus’ birth (Lk ii:7)
  3. The Circumcision (Lk ii:21)
  4. The prophecy of Simeon (Lk ii:34)
  5. The flight into Egypt (Mt ii:14)
  6. The return from Egypt (Mt ii:22)
  7. The loss of the Child Jesus (Lk ii:45)

The Seven Joys of St. Joseph:StStylianos

  1. The message of the angel (Mt i:20)
  2. The birth of the Savior (Lk ii:7)
  3. The Holy Name of Jesus (Mt i:25)
  4. The effects of the Redemption (Lk ii:34)
  5. The overthrow of the idols of Egypt (Is xix:1)
  6. Life with Jesus and Mary at Nazareth (Lk ii:39)
  7. The finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple (Lk ii:46)

St-Joseph-Icon

Comments

1. Baseballmom - November 12, 2015

I pray every day to St. Joseph for several (about 30) young men… For their needs and especially that they receive the graces necessary to embrace holy purity and holy sobriety, the two virtues most needed in these dark and evil days…
Thank you for this beautiful prayer too…

2. NickD - November 13, 2015

I took St. Joseph as my Confirmation saint, and he has given me many graces over the last few years as a young man growing up in our society. As I grow more fully into manhood, I will be turning to him more and more as I strive to be a good future husband and father, God willing

3. glmcreations - November 13, 2015

I pray especially to St Joseph when I need to be silent. He must be the most silent person in Holy Scripture. Guy McClung


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

