jump to navigation

The hell experienced by orthodox Catholics in leftist “Catholic” theology departments November 12, 2015

Posted by Tantumblogo in abdication of duty, Basics, disaster, episcopate, error, General Catholic, horror, paganism, persecution, priests, Revolution, scandals, secularism, self-serving, Society.
trackback

This article by Dorothy Cummings McLean is a bit old – two weeks – but it’s an extremely valuable post relating what it’s like for even a “centre-left” Canadian theology student at a major Jesuit “Catholic” college theology department – in this case, Boston College.  Her tale confirms others I’ve heard from more outwardly conservative souls, men with STLs from the Angelicum in Rome who have a hard time getting a job as a youth minister because NO ostensibly Catholic college would ever touch anyone so hideous as to be “conservative” and faithful, or women who graduated summa cum laude from highly reputable universities who are barred admittance to theology programs because they actually adhere to the Doctrine of the Faith.  The leftists populating the Catholic academia today are both lazy and ignorant, and they are terrified of well-formed orthodox students.  Beyond their easy (and very tired) leftist shibboleths, they have literally nothing to offer, save for personal immorality and dedication to leftist political agitation.

Some of the more troubling excerpts:

The brain-blowing combination of asserting that what is not Catholic teaching is somehow Catholic teaching and then shrieking like a frightened schoolgirl when the word “heresy” is uttered is what the American Catholic/Jesuit theological academy is all about, and I should know. I was in it for two of the most miserable years of my life………

…….That was what it was like for the next two years. Outrageous gossip about professors and theologians I respected as heroes. (“So, Dorothy, does X have AIDS?” “Y was a drunk, of course.” “I hope it’s true Z had a mistress.”) Conspiracy. (“Tell me, Dorothy, what does Professor Q say in his classes about….”) Outrageous remarks. (“Bishops are thugs!”) Boasting. (“And I said, ‘Senator…’”) And paranoia. Insane paranoia. (“Dorothy, don’t write that down!“)

To my amazement, I discovered that a professor I admired was nervous of me because he thought I was “conservative”—not a good thing to be in the Boston College theology department, let me tell you. (“But I thought I was center-left”, I wailed to a friend from home.) And after a visiting priest-professor had a neurotic hissy fit aimed at me before all my classmates—because I questioned his view that the ordained priesthood and Sunday Mass attendance were ultimately doomed—and I complained to the priest-professor in charge of this class, he suggested that this man, too, was afraid of me……..

……..What I did not know, when I blithely applied to study with them, was that the Boston College professors whose books I had admired did not publish what they really thought. I had no idea, for example, that one woman professor was all in favour of women’s ordination until I turned up in Boston…….. The delicate balance I had admired, the appeal to both liberals and conservatives while sticking to the bounds of orthodoxy, was just a clever trick.  The profs would say what they liked in class to their students; tape recorders were, of course, banned.

There was also a lot of theological arm-twisting. In one scarring incident, a pastoral theology professor showed up to my PhD seminar class with two large female henchmen-students and photocopies of an article about Archbishop Sean O’Malley’s obedience to the Roman directive not to allow Catholic adoption agencies to give children to same-sex couples. The topic of the seminar turned out to be, “How do we convince the Archbishop to disobey Rome?” As I tearfully (stupid tears!) defended a child’s right to a mother and a father, priest-colleagues stared silently at the table. [I’m going to say something harsh: but aside from some traditional exceptions, I would rate cowardice, moral, physical, etc.,, as one of the defining characteristics of the post-conciliar priesthood.  Bravery in the face of opposition is a defining masculine characteristic.  Very few priests have it]

U.S. Senators—particularly Catholic Senators—consulted the moral theologians of Boston College on a regular basis. One of my Jesuit professors, to the dismay of another Jesuit professor who ranted to me about it, testified that opposing gay marriage was not in keeping with Catholic tradition. This, I imagine, was technically true, since there had never been gay marriage to oppose before. But, naturally, that was another clever trick. [Catholic professors, even priests, supposedly dedicated to getting to the truth, instead offer sophistries and intellectual sleight of hand to advance their political-cultural agenda – IOW, their true religion.]

My theologate in Canada was run for the students; the theology department of Boston College was run for the professors.Students were pawns to be collected and either groomed to continue the professors’ intellectual legacy at other Jesuit colleges, pumped for information about other professors, or bored senseless by Big Names sitting firmly on their laurels….. [are you surprised that those whose very existence as Catholic theologians is a lie would have scruples of immoral behavior in many other areas?]

………“We don’t like to call it a ‘Catholic’ theology department,” said a professor to me while I was there. But, yes, they do. They do when it’s convenient…….

……What would Saint Ignatius have thought, I always wondered, of the one million dollar building named after him? What would he have thought of the $40,000-a-year undergrad tuition-and-board? What would he, who told his Jesuits not to take money for their teaching, have thought about the millions made off the bodies of the football players? Boston College was founded for the poor Irish Catholics of South Boston, but the only Southie accents I heard came from the lips of one ancient retired Jesuit, a secretary and the groundsmen toiling over the landscape so beautiful, manicured and dead.

It’s a bitter experience many Catholics go through, as they try to grow beyond the minimalist offering they are presented with in the vast majority of parishes, finding out that the Church today is not what she is supposed to be.  Quite the contrary, the discover the Church is not only possessed of a few shortcomings, but is in so many instances – in her offices, in her departments, in her priests, in her bishops – the very opposite of what Christ intends for her.  This process of painful discovery, forced on by spiritual starvation, has led millions out of the Church.  Who knows how many other potential converts have been turned away, when they seek to learn what the Catholic Church is all about from a priest or professor, only to be told they’re better off where they’re at now.

Because a lot of priests, and a lot more professors, feel the Catholic Church has nothing to offer anyone, except a cozy career and a launching pad for leftist agitation.  And the benefits are pretty good.  The copier works.  In short, it’s far more about them, than it is the Church, and its sure isn’t about the good of souls, about which they couldn’t give two @#%$s.

I mean, why would they?  Most don’t even believe in an after life (which is why they strain for “heaven” on earth), and if they do, they’re invincibly convinced everyone (except for faithful Catholics) goes there.

It is primarily episcopal cowardice that has brought this situation about.  Don’t forget that.

 

 

Comments

1. richard w comerford - November 12, 2015

test

Tantumblogo - November 12, 2015

Sorry Richard it was the link what done it. I cleared the comment out of spam. And you’re right. Boston has been a problem source for decades, and the very liberal Cushing really helped accelerate the decline there. Personally I think his handling of the Feeney affair was similarly revealing of his progressive outlook, not so much in that he opposed Feeney’s hard stand on EENS, but through the way it was handed in a heavy handed, authoritarian manner with little communication and sort of a “shut up and do as I say” methodology that helped push the Feeney camp further into radicalization.

2. tg - November 12, 2015

Tantum, have you ever wondered if we are in the false church that Blessed Anne spoke about in her visions? Everything that is happening in the church since Pope Francis has made me angry and I’ve lost my peace. It’s affecting other aspects of my life. Do you have any advice from the saints that you’ve read?

Tantumblogo - November 12, 2015

It’s really hard to tell if a prophecy is being fulfilled. Certainly I think many are, like Our Lady of Quito and Fatima. Clearly bishops are against bishops, and the Church is in a period of unprecedented crisis.

It’s easy to say: “don’t lose your peace,” but very hard to do. As for Saints to recommend…….Athanasius, certainly, also St. Basil. He writes of what it was like under the Arian persecution, which was very similar to our own.

LaGallina - November 12, 2015

tg — Sometimes I think I am so so very far from holiness! (Well, every day I KNOW I am far from holiness!) I think about how the great saints of the past suffered, and I know that I am too much of a wimp to embrace true suffering.

But we do have a suffering that the saints of the past did not have — this suffering of the Church that we feel so profoundly every day of our lives. It might be very different from the suffering that the saints endured, but I do TRY to embrace it as my cross. (Let me re-emphasize — TRY!)

One survival technique I use lately is to immerse myself in beautiful sacred music. Right now I have been listening constantly to the “Stabat Mater” composed by Vivaldi. I also love the compositions of the Stabat Mater of Pergolesi and Steffani.

I meditate on the sufferings of Our Lord through the music, and it helps to alleviate my own heartache, embracing the heartache of the Blessed Mother instead. Also, Mozart’s Requiem brings me a mournful peace.

Below is (hopefully) a youtube link to the Stabat Mater, Vivaldi version. It is simply gorgeous. I have read a number of comments from atheists who were so moved by this piece, that it made them doubt their lack of faith!

God bless you!

tg - November 13, 2015

LaGallina, thank you for your comment. I will try the music you suggested. If I could at least hear beautiful hymns at Mass, it would help me. That music at most parishes (including mine) just agitates me. (I’ve thought of wearing ear plugs but thought it might be a sin.) I tell myself that I should count the many blessings I do have and change my attitude but it’s hard. I don’t want to give up reading Catholic blogs because I want to know what’s going on.

LaGallina - November 13, 2015

I don’t think it would be a sin to wear ear plugs!🙂 Bad music could definitely be a hinderance to deepening one’s faith!! It is possible that some would give up the Catholic Faith altogether because of the hideous music being played in the Novus Ordo Mass!

Bad music is really what started me to question the situation in the Church. After my conversion I realized that we were singing the horrible little happy clappy tunes we used to sing in our evangelical mission churches in Mexico when I was growing up! I wondered for the longest time how Catholicism could have survived so long without any good music, and had to borrow from the goofy tunes of the start-up Protestant churches!

Ha ha! I didn’t realize that Mozart’s Requiem — my favorite music, even in my obnoxious teen years — was Catholic! Now I spend a lot of my time immersing myself (and my children) in gorgeous sacred music. Thanks to YouTube. (Sometimes I hate YouTube as they seem to try very hard to push immoral videos on me! But I have learned a lot about Tradition and the Traditional Church from YouTube.)

Hang in there, tg, and immerse yourself in the treasures of Tradition. I get very discouraged too, but the beautiful 2000-year history of the Church keeps me going. Oh, another thing I did was find old (pre-1960) Catholic prayer books on Ebay! What treasures they are. It is sad to think that we don’t have access to all the beauty that our grandparents had! But it does help me appreciate the little crumbs of beauty that I do get. And that’s probably a good thing since I may have taken for granted the riches of the Church if they were readily available!

tg - November 13, 2015

I was just reading on Father Z’s blog where he had a rant on music. The comments made me laugh because one person admitted to wearing ear plugs at Mass. My parish does sing some traditional hymns so it’s not as bad as other churches. Lately, though they’ve changed a bit so I may just invest in ear plugs. I wonder if I can put them in only when I don’t like a hymn without being seen. Oh well, people see me using hand sanitizer after the sign of peace.🙂 Thanks for your encouraging comments.

3. richard w comerford - November 12, 2015

Sir:

You ended your excellent article with this assertion:

“It is primarily episcopal cowardice that has brought this situation about.”

I am afraid the situation is far worse. In 1963 the Cardinal Archbishop of Boston, Richard James Cushing, went public with his support of artificial contraception. Strongly urging Catholic Legislators to vote to legalize this intrinsic evil. See: Boston College Magazine for an in depth account of this betrayal at: http://bcm.bc.edu/issues/spring_2011/features/legal-aid.html.

The year before the good Cardinal had started to say Holy Mass in his Cathedral in English. After V II he forced his national parishes to hear Holy Mass in the “vernacular” – not French, Polish or German; but in English; and this despite many parishioners not being able to speak English.

The Catholic Universities betrayed Christ for Caesar because Christ’s Shepherds first FORCED them to. For instance Jesuits loyal to Christ at Boston College were simply disciplined and replaced with worldlings.

But Christ has risen. The victory has already been won. Keep up the good work.

God bless

Richard W Comerford

4. David - November 12, 2015

Recently, a professor at Notre Dame launched an effort to assist students in staying Catholic at Notre Dame. Most universities have a word of mouth effort on which professors to take and which ones to avoid on various subjects. The website is:

http://www.NDCatholic.com

My mother went to an all girls Catholic college in Maryland pre VII. They had bed check and had a weekend curfew. I think the housemother woke them up on Sunday mornings to attend Mass. I recall Justice Scalia mentioning that when he was at Georgetown (about the same time my mother was in college) the RA would knock on doors and wake them up for Sundayonly 10-15% of the on

campus students attended Mass, and 60% of the student body (I grew up in public school) had graduated

David - November 13, 2015

My phone locked up, and I didn’t finish this post – so here’s the rest:

I recall Justice Scalia mentioning that when he was at Georgetown (circa 1960) the RA would knock on doors and wake them up to attend Sunday morning Mass. When I attended a Catholic college in the mid-to-late 1980’s, only about 15-20%% of the campus attended Mass (even though there was a 10 p.m. Mass on campus on Sundays), and 40% of the student body (I grew up attending public school) had graduated from a Catholic high school.

5. Amos - November 12, 2015

Here’s more:

I go to a certain university, I’m in the Master’s program for theology.

I had a professor tell us once that she had to keep quiet about her beliefs when working for Cardinal George of Chicago. She advocates for eliminating the Sacrament of Confirmation and that Mary is God (you read correctly).

A certain priest there teaches that Jesus never said or did things that the Scriptures records: including founding the Church on Peter (Matthew 16).

Another professor told us he was working on a piece that argued St. Paul taught that everyone was saved. He also said God doesn’t care for sacrifices and ritual.

Another professors promotes Teilhard, this professor is the craftiest of them all. Why? Your blog post here about the person who read a book of a professor and then attended her class to find out that she is much more radical: EXACLTY ON POINT. They all do this, in order to slowly push Catholics minds in a heretical direction.

This professor denies the Universal and immediate jurisdiction of the Pope – not openly – only in private. In reality he advocates for more collegiality, using the same tactics of ambiguity in order to undermine the authority of the Roman Pontiff.

His favorite theologians are the men like Conger, de Lubac and of course the Apostate Teilhard. Congar and de Lubac are infamous for their muddled theology, pushing heterodox agendas and defending other heretical theologians.

In a piece he wrote, he overtly defends the Modernists form the early 20th century, trying to justify their ideas. He conflates the Modernist doctrine of vital immanence (as explained by St. Pius X) with St. Augustine’s saying of “the heart is restless until it rests in thee.” Praising heretics like Blondel in the process. He then accuses St. Pius X of moral wrong, he accuses the Saint of committing a mortal sin against the Modernists he went after. SO in other words, he is advocating for one aspect of the heresy of Modernism, disguising it as actual Catholic doctrine and that St. Pius X was mistaken.

And of course like Teilhard and de Lubac, he advocates that spirit and matter are one and the same thing.

Etc. Etc… there really needs to be public excommunications or something done to these people. They poisons countless souls, we are powerless to stop them. Imagine how painful this is to sit in class and here this tripe.

6. Tim - November 13, 2015

This video is sadly a picture of the “education” system of the not-to-distant future:


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

