jump to navigation

Dallas March for Life Jan 16, and a cheeky suggestion January 11, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in Abortion, contraception, Dallas Diocese, episcopate, General Catholic, It's all about the $$$, manhood, persecution, pr stunts, scandals, secularism, self-serving, Society, the struggle for the Church.
trackback

The Dallas March for Life is this Saturday, January 16.  I didn’t attend last year’s march, the first time in several years that I had missed one.  My kids want to go this time.  I may…..we’ll see.

Anyway, event schedule below:

11:30 a.m. Concert for Life  Check out who will be performing
12:30 p.m. Rose Procession
1:00 p.m. Roe Memorial Mass
3:00 p.m. North Texas March for Life and Rally  Check out the dynamic rally speakers

Or, you can assist at a TLM at noon.  You know where.

But given Bishop Farrell’s recent diatribe, and the new and rather aggressive diocesan policy regarding guns, I had an idea:  the March itself does not take place in any locale governed by the new policy as written.  It takes place on public streets, where, under normal conditions, both open and concealed carry are perfectly legal.

I think you can see where I’m going with this.  Would it be too cheeky to turn this into an open carry demonstration?  Would it attract too much unfavorable attention from law enforcement or fellow marchers?  I’m certainly speaking of doing any confrontation with respect to Bishop Farrell, but just announcing a presence, so to speak, as well as a commitment to the God-given rights of all to defend themselves by just about any means they see fit.  I don’t think tying in firearms with a respect life effort contradictory, at all; on the contrary, I think the two go together quite naturally.

It might be interesting, even salutary, for Bishop Farrell to have a concrete response to his recent declaration, which has gotten national attention.

Notice is short, but I’m interested to know what any locals think about this.  Are there any legal restrictions on carrying firearms publicly in this state at public gatherings?  There are none I know of (according to this, open carry at the March should be OK). But I’m not completely versed in the finer points of such laws.  Note, I cannot carry a handgun publicly at present, but I could carry a long arm.

I am guessing this somewhat tongue in cheek suggestion will be poorly received?  I never really know, sometimes things I think will be controversial receive rousing support (or a barely concealed  yawn), and things I think are totally inoffensive get folks quite riled.

 

Comments

1. JorgeElCurioso - January 11, 2016

Me? I wouldn’t. Not at all because of Farrell. In fact I’d open carry at a cocktail party if he were there. But I think the press would have a field day with a bunch of armed Catholics at a pro-life rally.

Tantumblogo - January 12, 2016

Excellent point. But lately the press has all but ignored the March, even though it is generally one of the largest protests held in the county every year. But sounds like this is going over with a thud, anyway.

2. Gary - January 12, 2016

We could wear our favorite gun range Tshirt, he he

3. Sir Louis - January 12, 2016

On the whole, I think it is best just to let the open carry issue fade into the background. Here in Arizona, you can carry open or concealed, without any permit or license. Result: in four years here, I have seen someone carrying openly just about four times. Texas bishops are making a huge mistake in trying to ban it or even mentioning it. They are provoking counter action, and I won’t blame people who respond to that provocation but, on the whole, I think it’s better to do what the bishops should do: just let it all slide into the background. And just by the way, that’s what the bishops in Arizona have done. They have never said anything, so no one thinks a point has to be made.

And yes, I carry concealed everywhere, including when I am lector at Mass.

4. DFW Catholic (female) - January 12, 2016

Guns in Church – No.
Boobs in Church – Okay.

Pope welcomes 26 babies into Sistine Chapel, tells moms to nurse

http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/E/EU_REL_VATICAN_BAPTISM?SITE=AP&SECTION=HOME&TEMPLATE=DEFAULT

P.S. Recently ran across this:

Patron Saint of Handgunners —

http://www.gunsaint.com/default.asp

“The St. Gabriel Possenti Society commemorates the feast day of St. Gabriel Possenti on February 27, Society chairman John M. Snyder noted.

In 1860, St. Gabriel Possenti’s handgun marksmanship enabled him to rescue the villagers of Isola del Gran Sasso, Italy from a marauding gang of about 20 renegade soldiers.”

5. Gary - January 12, 2016

Very good advice.

6. c matt - January 12, 2016

I agree with Curious George. It would not seem right to “hijack” the March for Life even if unintentionally, for something else, no matter how worthy. It come across as the same despicable mindset that makes people like Cupich equate killing the unborn with low minimum wages.

And yes, the press would have a field day with it, if they cover it at all. No point in giving them . . . ammunition.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

