jump to navigation

Saying dumb things January 25, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin, blogfoolery, foolishness, silliness.
trackback

Sometimes I say dumb things. It is almost impossible (for me) to crank out a thousand-plus posts a year and not have some clunkers.  Or, at least, that’s how I like to rationalize my mistakes.

So, I had two that I felt had gone astray as I considered them over the weekend.  One in particular was dumb, regarding the new foot-washing regime. I even prefaced, as a sort of warning, in that post that I was about to say something ill-advised.  But, I should not have given into the temptation to write that.  It was a pointless jab born of excessive scandal and mounting frustration.  The post has been amended.

Look, I study a bit of history, and I am just about convinced the Church has not been afflicted with such a destructive pontiff (and with this one, the destructiveness seems to have some deliberation behind it) since the Renaissance princes of the 16th century (yes, I know….Paul VI.  But give the man time).  My scandal reached a peak of pique last week, so while that’s not an excuse for saying dumb things, consider that as part of the background that encouraged them.

The other post I felt I did not write well was nothing to give scandal, it was just an opinion I got a bit carried away with.  I wrote a post about manhood and the difficulty of instilling masculinity into adult males.  I asked whether such was even possible.  Upon reconsideration, I went too far.  I’m not entirely certain what prompted me to say that, it seemed to make sense at the time, but as I tried to reconstruct my reasoning later I felt I had gone too far.  What I should have said is that it is very difficult to instill a sense of masculinity of men who do not receive the basic tenets in childhood, not that it is impossible.

My hope in saying that was to encourage fathers to really be engaged with their children, especially their sons (but daughters need a proper appreciation of masculine behavior, as well), stressing the importance of inculcating a sense of manliness/masculinity at a young age.  But due to various distractions I never got around to actually saying that till the comments.

Anyhoo…….don’t mean for this to be a long post of self-justification, but when I make a goof, I try to own up to it.

 

Comments

1. skeinster - January 25, 2016

But see, this is why we love you. Not for the dumb things, but for the willingness to own up.

Tim - January 25, 2016

Agreed!!

Tantumblogo - January 25, 2016

Eh. I try. Sometimes my outrage gets the better of me. Thank you for the continuing support!

2. camper - January 25, 2016

Racist! Sexist! Imperialist! Homophobic! Patriarchal! Bad, bad, bad! 😉

3. tg - January 25, 2016

What was dumb about the foot washing? Encouraging people like me to bring up “foot fetish” comments?

Tantumblogo - January 25, 2016

Yeah someone really took exception. Even found my work e-mail, which I don’t like. I may know who it is, but they chose to come at me anonymously.

Having said that, I thought it was kind of beneath the dignity of the office, what I said, no matter how much this man is attacking that dignity himself.

4. Baseballmom - January 25, 2016

Well TB, I am still considering the awesomeness of your post on homeschooling and how to raise kids and to never lose hope or give up…. 😏

5. Margaret Costello - January 26, 2016

No worries, Tantum:+) You can’t get it exactly right all the time. You are soooo gifted in writing and promoting the truth! God bless you for sharing it with all of us:+) God bless~

Tantumblogo - January 26, 2016

Thank you. I wasn’t taking it hard, I just wanted to clear the air.

6. Angelic Doctor Games - January 26, 2016

Concerning dumb things. Thoughts on the firearms in church brou-ha-ha?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

