jump to navigation

Timely video – five guns for the first time gun owner February 5, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in awesomeness, catachesis, family, manhood, non squitur, Society, technology.
trackback

As my blog continues its transformation into a firearms site, I thought I’d post this video from a channel I watch occasionally on Youtube, “iraqveteran8888” as they discuss firearms for the novice gun owner.  Iraqveteran8888 is, as the name implies, a combat veteran of Iraq and he owns a gun shop somewhere in Alabama, I think.  He generally has some pretty good info.  I learn something about every time I watch one of his videos.  I will say, however, I rarely hear him say “this gun stinks,” he’s a gun shop owner, so you can take his recommendations for what you will.

Having said that, I think we can see from his recommendations below that they align quite well with much of the discussion on this blog from a recent reader request for advice on this matter.  They recommend one gun I own – a Ruger 10/22 (my “11th gun” that I forgot to mention in the comments earlier this week) – and a number of others.  I don’t think you can go wrong with any of these selections, from a Glock handgun to an AR to a pump-action shotgun (though, for home defense, I might prefer a pistol grip).  The one thing I would say, for self-defense, a .22 rifle may not be a real great choice.  Yeah they can spit out a lot of rounds, but there are a lot of arguments that .22 just isn’t enough to put some cranked-out perp down.

Quick story along that line.  I used to be friends with a Major General in the Royal Thai Army.  She was engaged in fighting muslim terrorists in the south of Thailand.  The muslims came up out of Malaysia, and were probably at least tacitly backed by Malaysia.  Anyway, like jihadists everywhere, their suicide attacks were fueled less by religious fervor than by a potent cocktail of mind-bending drugs.  They had a combination called “yen bai” or something like that, basically a speedball concoction, really potent Thai meth with heroin.  Anyway, the guys hopped up on that stuff proved very hard to bring down.  She carried a .45 Desert Eagle but found that insufficient.  Even multiple 7.62 NATO rounds were not always enough to bring those guys down.  They eventually found .50 cal fire from vehicle-mounted M2s was about the only thing that would reliably drop them cold.

Anyway, the video:

A few more comments: I like Mosin’s.  I’d like to have one.  But they are very long. In some houses I’ve been in, it would be hard to find room to bring a Mosin to bear.  I also wonder about some people actuating the bolt under extreme duress.

Shotguns have much to recommend.  A commenter noted the important feature that in a crowded environment with nearby neighbors, shotguns might be the best choice since they don’t penetrate very far after hitting something hard.  That’s a great point.  But overall, for home defense, in the middle of the night, having to react quickly, I wonder about the efficacy of all long arms.  That’s kind of the worst case scenario, you’re caught cold by the sound of glass breaking at 3 am.  While in many cases the sound of a shell chambering in a shotgun is probably enough to send almost any assailant fleeing, I’ve always thought a handgun was probably best for that midnight break-in nightmare scenario.  Certainly they could work, but I’ve tended to think a handgun is probably the optimal choice in that situation.  Small, light, easy to access, quick to bring to bear.  Eh, but there’s more than one way to skin a cat.

Comments

1. aquinas54 - February 5, 2016

Heh. Didn’t mean to start an unplanned change in the main topic of your blog. But thanks for this post and again, thanks to all who have commented on my original question, it’s been most helpful and I am actively exploring the options presented.
-Frank

2. camper - February 5, 2016

Boy, Tantum, how did you meet a Major General in the Thai army?

Tantumblogo - February 5, 2016

Long story. She doesn’t like women in infantry type combat roles, either. She’s been pressed into that kind of thing once or twice briefly, but even though she’s a very hard woman, recognizes even she could not bear under the strain for more than a few days at a time. Her actions were all sharp and short.

3. Tactical Guy - February 5, 2016

Larry Vickers Tactical channel on YouTube is a wealth of info and tactical guys make a great case for a 9mm tactical carbine for an ideal home defense weapon.

And invest in night vision goggles.

4. Marc - February 6, 2016

I love the idea of scaring off a perp with the sound of racking a shotgun…what a great sound!!…but the bad part about that is it gives your location away.

5. baliosv - February 6, 2016

Just a novice, here, but my handgun is a S&W 38 revolver. No this and that to get confused about in an emergency – not even a safety (warning). No slide to catch my hand if I am distracted. Fits into my pants pocket. Have considered a 22 pistol which is smaller/lighter. The sight of a shotgun is good for deterrence but also easy to pull away form you in close quarters. I have to have a point and shoot. Whatever you get practice with it occasionally. We love our Mosin – not a lot of occasion to use it, though ; ) Be careful about quality and buy from a local reputable dealer even if you pay more.

6. Elizabeth - February 7, 2016

Speaking of good YouTube videos about firearms, one of my favorites is “Hickock45”. Are you familiar with him? He’s a kick and a wealth of information. https://www.youtube.com/user/hickok45

Elizabeth - February 8, 2016

Oops, I spelled his name wrong. It’s “Hickok45”. 🙂

Tantumblogo - February 8, 2016

Yes ma’am. I know him well. He’s very good. A bit kinder in some of his reviews than I might prefer at times – I don’t think I’ve ever heard him say “this gun stinks,” but he does make a lot of criticisms in a more subtle fashion you can pick up on. He’s probably my favorite Youtube firearms type, overall.

Elizabeth - February 11, 2016

You’re right about his kindness in his reviews. A somewhat negative comment (for him) I remember hearing was when he reviewed a Henry Repeating Arms lever action rifle. He was loving on that gun, its beauty, craftsmanship and history, and having a blast shooting it.

Then he mentioned the other well known company who’s known for their beautiful replicas, Uberti of Italy. And he came right out and said that he thinks the Henry is a better gun. I was kind of shocked. Anyway, I didn’t take Hickok’s advice and I bought myself an Uberti 1866 Yellowboy from an estate sale. Sorry, Hickok!

7. c matt - February 8, 2016

Chambering a round in a pistol also makes a unique and well recognized sound. Tend to agree on the pistol v shotgun in close quarters, although the pistol grip shotgun is a good alternative.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

