jump to navigation

Francis’ February Prayer Intentions Nearly as Bad as January’s February 8, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in abdication of duty, Basics, disaster, episcopate, error, foolishness, Francis, General Catholic, Revolution, scandals, secularism, Society, the struggle for the Church.
trackback

This month, instead of the promotion of religious indifference masquerading as “dialogue” and understanding, we get a lecture on environmentalism. Once again, no call to prayer, but demands to change one’s manner of living, or, perhaps, vote the “right” way.  The ethos, the philosophy conveyed is thoroughly left-wing and overwhelmingly secular.  We are to be “freed from the slavery of consumerism,” apparently, by embracing unspecified “care for the environment.”  Otherwise, mother Gaia, the vengeful goddess, will smite us all in her hideous wrath:

I’m not sorry to say this, because it’s so obvious: this video, supposedly conveying prayer intentions!, has all the depth and impact of an Amnesty International commercial you’ve seen 400 times.  It is stunning in its banality and ineffectiveness, stifling in its promotion of left-wing shibboleths.

I’m blogging on this, because it’s more than rhetoric, it’s a form of action, carefully communicating to the world a very much different image of the Church than what has been presented heretofore.  There have certainly been prayer intentions from popes in the past few decades that were more worldly and less inspiring at times.  But never such a naked advocacy of what amounts to a form of politicking.  I think that’s what being pointed at here, because individual souls rarely have the ability to have a great deal of impact on environmental policy.

Sure, we can all recycle or ride a bike or a bus or whatever, but such will do very little to decrease, say, global CO2 output, if that were even a problem (and it’s not).  Making a large impact on the environment typically requires governmental action, and I think that’s more than hinted at in the “prayer intention.”  We all know which parties are associated with this kind of extreme concern over the state of the environment, and they are rarely the right wing ones.  Voting for such parties is frequently viewed as the best kind of contribution an individual can make to such an ostensible global “crisis.”

Maybe I’m reading too much into this, but I don’t think the political dimension can be overlooked.  I say this as someone who recycles more than anyone else on his street, by far, and who generally does have some concern over the responsibility we have towards the created gifts God has given us.  My wife was an environmental engineer, for crying out loud.  But this pseudo-prayer intention thing is really more progressive virtue signalling and moral posturing than anything else, to my mind.

 

Comments

1. marijokheitman - February 9, 2016

If he would do his job and encourage people to live according to Gods way and to confess their transgressions. The world would turn into Paradise all by its self. It is all connected. Pope Francis sees only with human eyes that is why he is a humanist. He is Satans pawn because of this. He does not know that he is evil or being used. At least I think he doesn’t know, how diabolical if he does

Sent from my iPhone

>

2. Xopher - February 9, 2016

So…about praying for the Holy Father’s intentions to gain an indulgence…Is it safer to say that Pope Francis probably hasn’t even considered indulgences as a factor (since they’re icky, or whatever), or that the indulgences are being held hostage?

To pray for them, or not to pray for them…?

Kathleen - February 9, 2016

Fortunately, Xopher, when praying for the Holy Father’s intentions while trying to gain indulgences one is praying for a very specific and NEVER CHANGING list of intentions, not this hogwash.

Your question troubled me a great deal as well. and then some time ago I found the explanation of what exactly we are praying for as far as the Holy Father’s intentions and squirreled it away.

The information was publishing in an article in the March 2002 issue of Catholic Magazine. It has been archived at the SSPX Archives. I can not post a link as that messes up the software here but enter the following search term at DuckDuckGo:

“Pray much for the Holy Father of course, we pray for the pope some difficulties answered Fr. Nicholas Mary”

The key part:

===========

When we pray “for the intentions of our Holy Father, the Pope” we are praying for something objective, something determined by the Church and laid down long ago:

1. The exaltation of the Church
2. The propagation of the Faith
3. The extirpation of heresy
4. The conversion of sinners
5. Concord between Christian princes
6. The further welfare of the Christian people

These are the intentions of the Sovereign Pontiff for which we pray as a necessary condition for gaining plenary indulgences.

3. Baseballmom - February 9, 2016

In my Catholic Morning Offering (in my email) I get his intentions AND his Year of Mercy reflection. I have to skip over both, I tried looking at the reflection once and it made me so angry I decided it was bad for my soul…

4. Mitchell H. - February 9, 2016

Tantum, I don’t think you’re reading too much into this at all. The political dimension to all this is impossible to avoid.

5. Baseballmom - February 9, 2016

Only read the intentions…. Just watched this. Pure politics. Nothing Catholic… Could have been delivered by the head of EarthFirst…oh wait… Maybe it was?????

6. Kathleen - February 9, 2016

Just a heads up — I think the software ate my last comment. Thanks.

7. Tim - February 9, 2016

Michael Matt’s 2 cents:

Tantumblogo - February 9, 2016

Watched it last night. Some very good points, including some I wish I had made.

8. Tim - February 9, 2016

I think we should all digest this when dealing with videos such as this and other shenanigans of Francis:

http://liturgicalnotes.blogspot.co.uk/2016/02/bishop-schneider-and-cowardly-rabbits.html

9. tg - February 10, 2016

I can’t watch videos like this. I’ll take your word for it. When I pray the morning offering, I’ll say “for whatever good intentions that are for your glory and according to your will that PF may have and those of Pope Emeritus.”


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

