jump to navigation

Start Novena to St. Joseph TODAY! March 11, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in awesomeness, Basics, Domestic Church, General Catholic, Glory, Good St. Joseph, Grace, Interior Life, Novenas, Spiritual Warfare, Tradition, Virtue.
trackback

Sorry I’m a little late, and that the blog has been in a coma of late.  It will probably stay that way for the foreseeable future (saying such typically being associated with a sudden surge in blogging in the past, but probably not this time).  Between job search, spending time with my family (such a blessing), and various things needing to be done around the house, I just haven”t had much time, nor, I must admit, motivation, for blogging.

BUT………I always try to put out reminders about Novenas and post some from time to time, so here goes. The first one actually came from our local TLM parish, so it will be a repeat for many readers, the other is one I have posted in the past:

O glorious descendant of the kings of Judah, Inheritor of the virtues of all the patriarchs.

Just and happy St. Joseph, listen to my prayer. Thou art my glorious protector, and shall

ever be, after Jesus and Mary the object of my most profound veneration and confidence.

Thou art the most hidden, though the greatest Saint, and art particularly the patron of those

who serve God with the greatest purity and fervor. In union with all those who have ever

been most devoted to thee I now dedicate myself to thy service; beseeching thee, for the

sake of Jesus Christ, who vouchsafed to love and obey thee as a son, to become a father to

me; and to obtain for me the filial respect, confidence and love of a child towards thee.

O powerful advocate of all Christians, whose intercession, as St. Theresa assures us, has

never been found to fail, deign to intercede for me now, and to implore for me the

particular intention of this Novena.

(Mention your intentions here)

Recite one Our Father, one Hail Mary, and one Glory Be.

Present me O great Saint to the adorable Trinity, with Whom thou hadst so glorious and so

intimate a correspondence. Obtain that I may never efface by sin the Sacred Image

according to the likeness of which, I was created. Beg for me that my divine Redeemer

would enkindle in my heart and in all hearts, the fire of His Love, and infuse therein the

virtues of His adorable infancy, His purity, simplicity, obedience, and humility.

Obtain for me likewise a lively devotion to thy virgin spouse, and protect me so powerfully

in life and death, that I may have the happiness of dying as thou didst, in the friendship of

my Creator, and under the immediate protection of the Mother of God.

Amen

Another, somewhat shorter Novena:

Saint Joseph, you are the faithful protector and intercessor of all who love and venerate you. I have special confidence in you. You are powerful with God and will never abandon your faithful servants. I humbly invoke you and commend myself, with all who are dear to me, to your intercession. By the love you have for Jesus and Mary, do not abandon me during life, and assist me at the hour of my death.

Glorious Saint Joseph, spouse of the immaculate Virgin, Foster-father of Jesus Christ, obtain for me a pure, humble, and charitable mind, and perfect resignation to the Divine Will. Be my guide, my father, and my model through life that I may merit to die as you did in the arms of Jesus and Mary.

Loving Saint Joseph, faithful follower of Jesus Christ, I raise my heart to you to implore your powerful intercession in obtaining from the Heart of Jesus all the graces necessary for my spiritual and temporal welfare, particularly the grace of a happy death, and the special grace I now implore: (Mention your request). Guardian of the Word Incarnate, I am confident that your prayers on my behalf will be graciously heard before the throne of God.

Prayer: Let us Pray! In Your ineffable providence You were pleased to choose Blessed Joseph to be the spouse of Your Most Holy Mother. Grant, we beg You, that we may be worthy to have him for our intercessor in heaven whom on earth we venerate as our protector. You who live and reign forever and ever. AMEN

Not sure when I’ll post again, though I have a lot to say.  I think we’re entering a new phase in this nation’s demise with this 2016 presidential election.  Looks like our choice will be Trump or Hillary – two amoral pro-abort filthy rich New York leftists pretending to be friends of the common man.  Hoo boy, such a choice!  I might just stay home.

There won’t be one brick or stand of wire laid for a border fence under Trump.

Comments

1. MT - March 11, 2016

Thank you.

2. Baseballmom - March 11, 2016

Thanks – and prayers continue for you every day.

3. Tim - March 11, 2016

Concerns about Trump noted.
However, this should disturb any serious Catholic:

tg - March 11, 2016

Catholics are probably going to get that evil woman elected.

Tim - March 11, 2016

Punctuation error: should be “Catholics”

4. Elizabeth - March 11, 2016

It’s not over yet. Go Cruz!

5. tg - March 11, 2016

I’m praying that you get a job soon. My brother-in-law who was laid off got a job this week. He wanted to relax more at home but couldn’t miss the opportunity. I miss your blogging. Take care and thanks for the novena. (I already started one but this is more traditional.)

Tim - March 11, 2016

Ditto the 1st sentence!

6. Tantumblogo - March 13, 2016

Thank you guys for your prayers. They mean a great deal. I will try to blog more. I just have so much to do. Like holding a precious month old girl!

Look, Cruz is far from ideal. I don’t think anyone can “save” this country at this point. But I just got laid off so my former company could try their hand at H1-B and overseas (India) replacements. It will fail massively, it always does (at least in product development). Ted Cruz recently advocated for increasing H1B from 65000 per year to 335000. Now there are only 3.8 million STEM workers in the US, total. A few years of the Cruz plan and most of us would be gone.

You can see where the elite wants to go, then, when they say “we have a terrible shortage of tech workers,” which we don’t, what they really mean is “we have a terrible shortage of tech workers who will work for less than $20 an hour.”

I am very troubled by Cruz’ wife’s work at Goldmann Sachs. I’m troubled by his rejection of Catholicism. I’m troubled by his evangelicalism and his pro-contracept mentality,which fatally undermines his very strong pro-life beliefs.

Having said all that, he’s by far the best remaining option, and was the least problematic of all the candidates from day 1. Texans know how the establishment Republican party did everything possible to keep him from being elected to the Senate. They do not like him. He’s far from perfect, but he’s probably the least “hold my nose” since Reagan, for whom I was too young to vote, anyway.

But as Woody says, this country is beyond fixing, I’m afraid.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

