jump to navigation

Shhh…….don’t tell May 3, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin, awesomeness.
trackback

Look what accidentally jumped into my shopping cart Saturday night.  Numero doce:

petredprifle (2 of 26)

Ain’t she just about the purtiest AK you ever did see?  Who needs 2″ groups at 800 yards, anyway?  I can’t shoot that far, regardless.

Given that the H-woman is almost certain to be our next president, and given her strident statements regarding gun control and mounting rhetoric about banning semi-auto firearms, I consider this purchase not one of excess, but of grave prudence.  Yeah, that’s it………

I was going to get a much cheaper model but when I saw this, with the nickel plate receiver, Guncote, treated barrel, and refinished original Russian AK furniture, I couldn’t say no.  It shipped today.  Might have it by the weekend.  But it’s sort of a secret, so no telling.  It being easier to beg forgiveness than ask permission is a maxim I tend to live by.  So Catholicism was really a natural fit.

I know, shotguns and handguns are probably more practical.  One day I’ll buy another shotgun.  I don’t know if I’ll ever get another handgun, the two I have are fine and they just don’t move me like long arms do.  There are several other semi-autos I’d like to get before anything else, including a C308, FAL, and a Dragunov clone. I did see a really wicked double barrelled semi-auto shotgun at the local shop the other day, but it was almost $1500.

One day:

dragunov_svd0323111

Comments

1. docmx001 - May 3, 2016

That price is so low… please post re quality once you’ve put rounds downrange. I hope it works out for you.

Tantumblogo - May 10, 2016

Well, I didn’t consider close to $900 cheap for an AK. But as it turns out……..lots of problems. The bolt carrier sticks when retracted. Sometimes fails to go into battery. The front site is loose and bent. And the muzzle brake is so loose I’m sure it’s going to fly off after a few rounds. Really disappointing. Last time I buy a gun online? Don’t know. I’ve generally had good experiences, but not this time.

I’m going to have to send it back to the vendor.

docmx001 - May 10, 2016

Are you running a slant brake like in the picture? I have a Tapco Razr on mine. Do you have a spring pin on your front site that the brake locks into, or is it just threaded? You want it a little loose, just the bit of play the pin has inside the notch at the base of the brake.

Tantumblogo - May 10, 2016

Yeah the pic is how it came. Exactly. The brake spins freely 360 degrees. It’s so loose I think I could pull it off by hand if I really tried. The brake is supposed to have the scalloped out side on the top (longer side down) to help drive the gun back down as the bullet and charge leave the barrel. Its to keep the gun from climbing when fired rapidly, as I understand. So I don’t comprehend why it would be designed to spin freely.

The front sight pin is bent. It’s off probably 3-5 degrees. I could replace it, but I’m pretty mad it came like this from the factory and from Atlantic’s supposed quality check and test firing. No way they did not notice the bolt carrier hanging up.

docmx001 - May 10, 2016

I’m not sure how it can spin freely. Is it threaded? Is it just not locking into the pin because the pin is bent? I would send the whole thing back if you can.

Tantumblogo - May 10, 2016

I don’t have it in front of me. I believe there is a pin. Now, I was told the brake is designed to move some. But that didn’t make sense given what it is supposed to do.

It is not threaded. It has a pin. I’m sure it’s not engaged right. And I’m sure if I fire a few rounds it’ll be long gone.

Did you buy a Vepr? I guess I should have gone with a name brand?

Tantumblogo - May 10, 2016

So tomorrow, a new post, “Everything Sucks”

docmx001 - May 10, 2016

Mine is Romanian Army circa ??? with all the furniture and fine points switched out for US parts.

Tantumblogo - May 10, 2016

OK. So I see how that post could be taken to be overly positive. Not my intent, but I can see how it might have come across like that. It was merely a post intended to buck up spirits a bit and say there are still a few good things happening here and there. But I think the way it was worded maybe caused people to hearken back to the days of PBXVI and the hope that the restoration was starting to take off. Again, not my intent, but I can understand how people could think that.

2. Baseballmom - May 3, 2016

The starter kit is growing! 😀. Very pretty, the hubs prefers the long guns too, although he was not upset when I bought him a nice 44 for his 40th…. Twenty years ago… He just saved us a bunch of $$$ last weekend on something or other… I don’t even recall what it is, but it shoots elk real nice, from what he tells me 😀. Yep, he was going to spend 1300 but only spent 800 or something… Saved us 500 bucks! Think maybe I will go out and spend those savings 😉


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

