jump to navigation

Fr. Michael Rodriguez Video on Praying the Rosary June 9, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in awesomeness, Basics, catachesis, Dallas Diocese, General Catholic, Glory, Grace, Interior Life, Latin Mass, Our Lady, priests, Restoration, the struggle for the Church, Tradition, true leadership, Virtue.
trackback

As in, how to derive maximum benefit from praying the Rosary with concentration, devotion, and proper intentions.  Father’s video was primarily intended for children, and while I gladly acknowledge my rather amazing immaturity, I found much of benefit in it, and I think you might find the video helpful, too.  That’s much more a commentary on Father’s catechesis, than anything about you.  Said Tantumblogo, covering his bets.

I really like how Father begins every sermon, every effort at catechesis, not just with a prayer, but with an original he composes on his own.  Saying a Hail Mary before a sermon is awesome, but having a unique, heartfelt prayer strikes me as even more meaningful.

On an unrelated note, does anyone know if Fr. Brian McDonnell, FSSP, speaks Spanish?  The local FSSP parish is losing its only fluent Spanish-speaking priest in Fr. Terrence Gordon (I’ll miss him….sniff), and I am wondering how the many parishioners most comfortable speaking delicate matters in Spanish will be cared for if his replacement cannot communicate adequately with them?

I’ll just repeat for the record, I know in a fast-growing order with more demand for services than resources provide, some moves will have to be made, from time to time. But this is our 5th priest change in as many years! It takes time for priests to get to know parishioners, and to serve adequately in critical roles like spiritual director.  It can be shocking for a soul to lose their director (one reason why mine is not in the Fraternity).  And a priest is supposed to be a father, both to the community and individual souls.  That closeness that should exist, that knowledge of families as they grow and change over the years, is completely lost in all this shuffling around. Fr. Wolfe gave a really good sermon on this subject years ago……before he, too, was moved.

The post-conciliar trend, apparently prevalent even in some of the Ecclesia Dei communities, of reassigning priests every few years is, I think, misguided and destructive.  I know nothing of Fr. McDonnell, he might be a fantastic priest and a really wonderful man (he probably is), but, then, will he be gone in 2 1/2  years, too?  Continuity is important.

A looong time ago, when I was a very young engineer working for a really crappy company in Idaho, an old engineer sighed when I told him I was leaving, and said: “We always lose the good ones.”  I don’t know if I’ve ever been one of the “good ones,” but I do know just how he feels.

Comments

1. Brian E. Breslin - June 9, 2016

Yo, Tantum, good on you! This is awesome. Thanks, from one ” kid” to another. It is never a bad thing to remind ourselves what Our Lord said about being like children.

2. rick - June 9, 2016

+JMJ+
Where is Father Gordon going? I too, will miss him.We sure have lost two good ones in a row.
We can be happy in knowing that his new community will be well served.

DM - June 9, 2016

He’s going to the Richmond, VA apostolate. Has anyone heard if the FSSP is receiving any external priests joining the Fraternity this year? They are losing at least one who is returning to his diocese this year.

3. DM - June 9, 2016

On Fr. McDonnell being Spanish fluent, I would guess not, given that he’s a Vancouver native and has mostly served his priesthood in Western Canada which has few Hispanics. But I could be totally wrong, perhaps he has learned it.

I greatly agree with you with your points about the unfortunate tendency to move priests around every few years. Both the FSSP and SSPX do this, as well as most dioceses and other orders. The reason I’ve frequently heard is that they’re afraid of parishioners getting too attached to their priest in a sort of ‘cult of personality’ way, which then can lead to severe problems up to and including a schismatic situation if the priest eventually is asked to leave. Of course that has happened far more often in Novus Ordo parishes than it ever would in traditional parishes, but that’s what I’ve been told is the true reason for the 6-12 year maximum parish tenure.

KM - June 16, 2016

Unfortunately, “cult of personality” in regards to priests happens in the FSSP far more than one might initially think. It is a frightening thing to see in action…

I don’t think you’ll be disappointed in Fr. McDonnell. I had the privilege to be present at Mass for some of his sermons when he was a deacon. Very solid!

4. Baseballmom - June 10, 2016

Enjoyed Father’s talk so much, thank you.

5. Judy - June 10, 2016

Wait a minute, why should we need a Spanish-speaking priest? Unless someone is only visiting this country, shouldn’t they be able to speak English? I completely disagree with the current trend to teach all seminarians Spanish.

Brian E. Breslin - June 11, 2016

Judy, my hero St.John Neumann, Bishop of my native City learned Irish( Gaeilge) in order that he could hear and understand the Confessions of the newly arrived working immigrants in the 1840s and 50s. He already spoke several languages, but he realized the importance of his priesthood to the souls of his disparate flock. You go where the souls are, Judy. Many of those souls nowadays do their confessing in Spanish and thus…

Elizabeth - June 12, 2016

That was my first thought, Judy. Here’s a thought….learn English.

6. KathiBee - June 13, 2016

Imagine how the FSSP El Paso parish feels in that they have never had a Spanish-speaking priest??? In a city where more Spanish is spoken than English. While it is definitely a bummer for Dallas to not have a bi-lingual priest, it is even more so for El Paso.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

