jump to navigation

A little Catholic Culture – the Missions of California June 21, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in Art and Architecture, awesomeness, Basics, Christendom, General Catholic, Glory, Grace, history, Saints, sanctity, Tradition, true leadership, Virtue.
trackback

I have long loved Catholic art and sacred architecture, and it’s been too long since I’ve done a post on this subject.  I stumbled on a 1940s video showing many of the California Missions founded by Saint Junipero Serra.  While the quality is only so-so and features almost exclusively exterior shots (so we can’t see the missions prior to any post-conciliar wreckovation), it’s still interesting.  It’s sort of a school-kid video but that’s actually a good thing, as it gives some basic information on the missions that may be new to you as it was to me.  I found a few other videos, as well, that feature more interior shots, but some of the chapels have plainly suffered from the wreckovation, with plain tables standing in front of artistic treasures.  In some cases, the ancient altars have been trashed in favor of barren protestant desks.

It’s a shame that all the times I’ve been to San Antonio I’ve never toured the missions there, either.  I’ve meant to many times but it’s never worked out, for whatever reason.  As much as I love Catholic history and architecture, especially Spanish-style, it’s really kind of obscene that I’ve never taken the time to avail myself of their treasures.  The only mission I’ve ever visited is the one in Goliad, Mission La Bahia.

The remaining videos are all fairly recent, but have much more interior footage.  Some of the mission chapels are quite striking, very suitable for a TLM to this day.  Of course, the devotion that led to the building of the many Californian missions was rooted in the same Faith that is best expostulated in the Traditional Latin Mass, and stands in marked contrast to the cold worldly sentiments that surround the post-conciliar ethos:

I’m bummed that one post I did today, and spent more than a few moments on, has mysteriously disappeared.  I had a post up about active duty Air Force members physically throwing a man out of a retirement ceremony but it’s gone.  I’ll try to put up some kind of replacement shortly.

Comments

1. DM - June 22, 2016

If you ever get the chance, check out the San Xavier del Bac Mission in Tucson as well. Astoundingly beautiful to this day.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

