jump to navigation

What to do? “No pro-life reason to vote for Trump” July 14, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in Abortion, contraception, disconcerting, error, foolishness, General Catholic, It's all about the $$$, sadness, secularism, sickness, Society, The End.
trackback

That’s the title of the very long article I was sent by reader MFG earlier this week, expostulating an extremely long pro-life defense of refusing to vote for Trump.  I’ll only excerpt a little bit of the article, both because it’s too long to effectively condense to a reasonable-length post, and because I’ve already said much of what the author claims.

I’ll just add this – for the first time in my adult life, I am considering not voting, at least at the presidential level, this November. I am having a hard time not viewing voting in the presidential election this year as pointless.  There is simply no morally acceptable candidate to choose.  I certainly don’t want Hillary to win, and view her as the absolute worst possible option, but I simply cannot accept Trump’s deplorable personal morality – of which he remains shamefully proud and defiant – and his contradictory claims regarding abortion and other moral issues.  The Libertarian candidate is also a pro-abort, which is simply an ender for me.  I guess I’m down to writing in somebody.  I’d say Darrell Royal, but he’s dead, God rest his soul.  Or, I simply won’t vote at all.

Having said that, I think if the party tries to steal the nomination from Trump at the convention next week, that will only insure Hillary’s election.  Trump won the primary by a substantial margin.  Like it or not, Trump is the candidate, and attempting to “correct” the expressed will of the people – and I’m aware of all the problems and even contradictions in that statement – is a formula for suicide.  Trump may or may not receive majority support and win the election, but what support he does have is very often extremely fervent and these people would be completely livid if the party stole, for lack of a better word, the nomination from him.

For those who don’t want to read further, it is hard to find a more succinct or accurate distillation of the development of my thought than that offered by Ben Sasse’s spokesman after the Senator met with Trump this week: “Mr. Sasse continues to believe that our country is in a bad place and, with these two candidates, this election remains a dumpster fire. Nothing has changed.” I heartily agree.

There are no conditions at this point under which I could possibly vote for either Donald Trump or Hillary Clinton. [That’s pretty much my point of view, at present.  It could change, but I doubt it.]

…….

So, no, I won’t be voting for Hillary. Trump, then? No, not him either.

I have heard every argument defending voting for him over the past six months. I remain as convinced as I ever have been that there are no grounds on which it is permissible or morally licit for a conservative Christian to lend their support to Trump by voting for him.

In fact, I think it is obvious that no one should vote for the Contemporary Falstaff. However sophisticated the rationalizations for Trump become, they do not overcome the single, basic fact that he has done nothing in his personal life nor his professional career to demonstrate that he is fit for the highest office in the land. I take it as a given that nominating an unfit person to such an office would be a grave danger to American security and interests.

So there is no world where I will think that the political calculus and rationalizations add up to making voting for Trump permissible, save the world where Jesus appears in the flesh and tells me it is. And that is not this world, despite the earnestness with which many Trump supporters have assured me it is.

Now, having included that quote, I am not certain I could go so far as to say that I there are no grounds under which it is morally licit for a Christian to vote for Trump.  Hillary is so deplorable, so criminally minded, and so evil in intent and action I can understand those who would support Trump simply to keep Hillary from being elected.  I’m not in that place, but I can understand it.  I also can understand – though I think it quite wrong – the mentality that the political elites in this country are irredeemably corrupt and self-interested and that Trump represents the best shot at shocking the current system and hopefully reforming it.  There is also Trump’s seeming ability to repudiate cultural marxism that is attractive.  I can understand all of these as rationale’s for voting for him, though they don’t personally move me to be able to support him, for a variety of reasons.

I also basically disbelieve Trump’s occasional  (and often self-contradicted) claims to opposing abortion or being pro-life, among other moral issues.  But I find declaring support for him to be immoral to go a bit too far, unless that statement hinges on his personal morality, in which case I’d be in general agreement.  Regarding policy, however, since he’s been all over the map in his statements, my first question would be: which one?

Personally, I’m really not certain what I’m going to do.  I increasingly feel that these elections are pointless, that this republic has passed the point of saving by political action.  The very fact that Hillary and Trump are our two major candidates is a damning indictment of this nation. Even  twenty five years ago, the scandals attached to these two people would have made their election as president impossible, but Americans seemingly no longer care about things like faith, morality, or even criminality.  In fact, most people seem to expect it of “high” personages.

I’m sort of wandering.  The only way I could possibly vote for Trump is out of sheer spite/fear/disgust for Hillary.  At this point, however, I will probably just write in Michael Rodriguez or something like that – not that he would appreciate it!  I just cannot be convinced that Trump is not a pro-abort, pro-sodomy, bad policy immoral dude.  I feel his rhetoric about a border wall/immigration control is empty.  I feel his campaign is just a massive vanity project, an ego trip on an epic scale.

Please don’t take my (or anyone else’s) criticism of Trump as an attack on you.  As I’ve said, I do understand why many support him, though I cannot.   If he is elected, I’d love to be proven wrong.  We shall see.  It seems the e-mail/influence peddling scandal may have hurt Hillary more than many thought – her support has seriously eroded and many polls now show the race tied or Trump in the lead.

However, I’m afraid the Simpson’s writers were right, if a bit premature:

Maybe I should run a poll to see how many readers are supporting Trump.

Comments

1. Brian Springer - July 14, 2016

I don’t like any candidate, though I’ll vote Trump simply because I know for a fact what a Hilary presidency would look like. I’m not all that confident in Trump, due to this contradictory statements, but if ends up being useless than he won’t be that different from any other politician (or at least, most of them). So honestly, the answer seems clear to me. You either end up with someone who is guaranteed to continue the deplorable policies of the current administration (and perhaps, make them worse) or someone who might not keep any of his promises and backslide. The former is something that we should strive to prevent.

2. Tim - July 15, 2016

Show me a truly “pro-life” candidate EVER. It’s all a sham. If one is truly “pro-life” they are anti-contraception (including “NFP”). We’ve had so many judges betray us as well as elected officials. Tragically, even among Catholics, the concept of “pro-life” has become a joke. As long as the contraceptive mentality exists there will be no “pro-life” candidates. The wrath of God is coming because of this anti-life culture. It is not due to evil people, but the failure and cowardice of good people.

Trump voter - July 15, 2016

I’m one of “those” people who voted for Outsider Trump in the Texas primary because I am so fed up with the Republican business as usual — ex. on pro-life and on the borders and the moslems. After being a pro-life voter since I was 18 (1980) I have yet to see much real progress on that front at the national level. Thank goodness the states are stepping up and doing what they can for life. I’m also tired of Republican Supreme Court appointees who disappoint.

As far as Trump’s morals go, a very little knowledge of U.S. presidential history – and I must admit I’m not the expert on the topic — will show that the highest office in the land is no stranger to scandal. The press just used to be better at hiding it. For example, “Catholic” president JFK (who was in office when I was born) and that supposed Marilyn Monroe “suicide” like I believe that one…

I can overlook Trump’s divorces because he is protestant, not Catholic and divorce is allowed by his religion — I believe I read he is affiliated with the Presbyterians. As far as womanizing goes, well again, look at “Catholic” JFK (and I hear RFK, and the Kennedy list of course goes on and on). Wasn’t it Andrew Jackson who was “married” to a divorcee ? That was a great scandal at the time. How about what I hear was First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt’s same-sex attraction activities ? Her husband was a FOUR-TERMER… and he was in a wheelchair, a fact conveniently hidden by the press.

3. DiscoStu - July 15, 2016

Cardinal (then Archbishop) Burke published in 2004 a letter called On Our Civic Responsibility and the Common Good, available here in its entirety. http://www.ewtn.com/library/bishops/burkecom.htm

The principles are sound 12 years later.

4. Branch - July 15, 2016

I agree with Chris Jackson of The Remnant: “No Catholic can vote for Hillary. Grave obligation to vote against her to save what is left of the US for our kids.”

5. c matt - July 15, 2016

I would be less concerned about a Hildebeast presidency if the GOP had any balls. But they don’t. Still not sure I can pull the lever for Trump at this point, but it would either be Trump (as an anti-Hildebeast vote) or nothing.

6. David - July 15, 2016

Here is my two cents:

In Texas or Oklahoma, a write in vote or leaving the President box blank on the ballot probably would not make much difference, since the Republican normally wins in Texas and Oklahoma.

Now, if I am voting in Virginia, New York, anywhere in New England, Pennsylvania where most of my relatives live, Florida, or the left Coast, I would go ahead and vote for Trump, since he is the lesser of the two evils. I wasn’t too crazy about Romney or McCain (and voted for others in the Republican primary), but I did vote for them on election day.

The last primary I gave Ted Cruz my vote. Since I live in Texas, I may write in Louie Gohmert, Mike Huckabee, Rick Santorum, or someone else. I don’t want another four years of Obama.

7. MFG - July 15, 2016

One thing implicitly mentioned in the article needs to be stated loudly: The pro-life movement failed because it wrongly focused on changing the Supreme Court. As Breibart said politics is downstream from culture. Winning the White House, appointing judges is a failed attempt. We have it upside down. The only way to end abortion is to renew our parish and culture locally-not nationally.

That’s why we’ve failed after 40+ years.

We should consider a political party or cultural movement based on the traditional teachings of the church. But it should be a local effort not national.

Thanks for posting!

camper - July 17, 2016

The prolife movement hasn’t failed. It has had many successes since Roe v. Wade, even if it hasn’t succeeded in banning fetuscide.

MFG - July 18, 2016

Camper- your confusing success at the state level with failure at the national level. Statewise we have had success- the Texas law which the Supreme Court just rejected had great success, but it was a state effort. Nationally the best we could muster in 40 years was the on/off again Mexico City policy, the Hyde amendment and partial birth abortion ban (after many years in court). Compared to the states, that’s a terrible record. While we shouldn’t abandon the federal fight, success in ending abortion can only happen locally. Cultural renewal starts at a local level most times.

8. camper - July 17, 2016

America is going down in flames. St. Thomas Aquinas, I believe, wrote about whether or not one should vote in bad times like ours (I just don’t know where he wrote it.) He wrote that one should vote even if it was the lesser of two evils. If you are voting, you can’t be held responsible for the bad policies you tried to prevent if your vote was clearly for the better candidate. Trump is exceptionally ugly, but without voting for him, the country will turn totalitarian (or close enough, with more open and severe persecution of Catholics than exists now) very quickly. America as we know it is very decadent, but it is still worth defending. I voted for Cruz in the primary. Vote Trump/Pence in 2016.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

