jump to navigation

I could’ve really freaked you out……. August 1, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin, Basics, Dallas Diocese, General Catholic, Glory, Grace, Latin Mass, priests, silliness, the struggle for the Church, Tradition, true leadership, Virtue.
trackback

……..if I had appended this to Friday’s post:

I had a hard time finding a video of that song that wasn’t wholly immodest.  I do enjoy that opening bass riff.

Sorry for the drama.  It was not intentional. I found that little letter from St. Francis de Sales right before I had to leave on Friday, I typed it up in Word and just pasted it, already running late.  I did not mean to cause folks any concern, I simply didn’t have the time to provide the customary preface/conclusion to the text. I may have also had a subconscious thought that it had a great deal more impact if I just left it stand on its own, but I guess because I never envision just walking away like that, I didn’t consider the conclusion that could obviously be drawn from leaving a post of a sort of goodbye letter hanging.

So, sorry again. As I replied to one reader over the weekend, rest assured, if I start feeling like quitting I’ll give plenty of notice.  I have no plans to do so.  I still enjoy it quite a bit, though it’s not as easy to do as it was for a number of years.  For now I plan to keep ‘on truckin.

BTW, I guess I/we just continue to be lucky in our local FSSP parish, but our new priest delivered a very forceful criticism of Guadium Et Spes in his sermon yesterday.  It was very specific and really more than a criticism, more like a full-on denunciation.  I was barely able to restrain myself from standing and doing fist pumps.  That makes 4 of 7 priests assigned since 2010 who have publicly criticized/denounced Vatican II in clear terms.  I understand there is a divergence of opinion among Fraternity priests regarding both the doctrinal correctness of the documents of Vatican II or the prudence of criticizing them, but in my experience I have seen quite a bit of willingness to say those things that need to be said.  Maybe that is one reason the local parish has experienced such phenomenal growth.

After some of the discussion from the comments last week, I found the timing of this sermon most providential………

 

Comments

1. Richard M - August 1, 2016

Tantum,

Is there any way to get audio of the sermon, for those of us not fortunate enough to attend your fine parish?

Tantumblogo - August 1, 2016

Hopefully before long. I know it’s been recorded, but I don’t know where it’s stored.

Richard M - August 1, 2016

If you could drop a link here when it is…well, that way I’ll get the alert by email when you do. Thanks!

Tantumblogo - August 1, 2016

I promise I will post it as soon as I can.

2. ForThoseILove - August 1, 2016

I remember the 50’s and 60’s music shows, and saw her singing this. She must have been mad cause her dad was dating Mia Farrow who was 1/2 her dad, Frank Sinatra’s age. I can understand but, I have lived long enough to know, revenge never fixes anything. It just makes it worse. IMHO.

reader - August 2, 2016

I used to love to hear that song on the radio when I was a little girl. I thought it was about go-go boots (which were so cool). I also liked the song “Downtown.” I even remember when the Beatles broke up. I heard it on the car radio when my mother picked me up from afternoon kindergarten : ) It was so sad : (

3. cenlacatholic - August 1, 2016

I thought you were going out like The Catholic Knight at his blog. Wonder where that fella is and how he’s doing.

Tantumblogo - August 1, 2016

He announced he was quitting at the end of 2013, I thought. Or sometime around then.

4. TF - August 1, 2016

Miss Sinatra really couldn’t sing very well, could she? Or maybe she sang poorly on purpose. Welcome back from your brief retirement.

Baseballmomof8 - August 2, 2016

Oh my, she really is awful… I’d forgotten…

5. FidelityJane - August 1, 2016

Thank you for not ending your blog. I rarely leave comments, but I was really feeling badly about what I understood to be a departure – I and promised myself to thank you if you ever returned. Your blog is excellent and part of my daily reading. Thank you again.

6. NickD - August 1, 2016

I think you freaked us out regardless! I was concerned we’d heard the last from you to say the least. I’m glad to hear you’ll keep on keeping on!

7. Judy - August 2, 2016

Loved his homily. As a bonus, my boys tell me that he actually speaks loud enough for the serving altar boys to hear the homily, something that is occasionally a problem when the microphone is relied upon too heavily.

Tantumblogo - August 2, 2016

Oh yeah. He was loud n’ proud. Really well done.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

