jump to navigation

Catholic Irving August 4, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in Art and Architecture, awesomeness, Basics, family, fun, General Catholic, Interior Life, sanctity, Society, the struggle for the Church, Tradition.
trackback

Just a short post of some purty pics I’ve come across lately, both related to Irving.  Irving is probably the most Catholic city I’ve ever lived in.  Given that I’ve always lived in protestant-land, that may not be saying much, but there is a slightly discernible difference, even as more and more of the Catholics, principally Hispanics, migrate to the sects.  That visible Catholicism has several sources, rooted primarily in orthodox belief and practice.  It’s the only place we’ve lived where there is a considerable concentration of convicted Catholics living within a mile or two of each other.

It’s hardly Seville at Easter or Siena in 1350, but it’s better than others.

Two pics, one taken by my wife:

20160725_130511a

Kind of hard to see.  If you save it and open it you can blow it up to see better.

This artwork was done by a young lady that used to live with us and went to Mater Dei for a time:

sadfad

It’s called Two Hearts, One Love. It’s being displayed in an art exhibit in the Diocese of Springfield, Ill.

Rather similar to some of the glorious holy cards from times past you find at Holy Card Heaven:

sacred heart bird hand painted colorful

eternal happiness is the recompense of faitful hearts who cling to the Cross with love. Holy Evangelists - Basset copy

Speaking of holy cards, I was told the prayer below was composed by a local priest.  I haven’t researched to see if that’s true or not, but I did enjoy the prayer, but have been meaning to share it, all the same:

Heavenly Father, in the name of Jesus Thy Son I pray; May the Precious Blood of Jesus wash over me and through me.  Let it heal any and every wound and scar, so that the devil may find no purchase in me.  Cause it to saturate and fill up my whole being; my heart, soul, mind, and body; my memory, imagination, my past and my present; every fiber of my being, every atom. 

Let there remain no part of me untouched by His Precious Blood. Make it flow over and around the altar of my heart on every side.  Fill and heal especially the wounds and scars of/caused by____________.  

These things I ask of You, Heavenly Father, in the name of Jesus. Jesus, likewise, grant that the light of Your Holy Cross shine in all these same parts of me and my life, that no darkness remain where the devil may hide or have any influence. 

Mary, Refuge of Sinners, pray for me to receive these graces I ask. 

Amen.

 

Comments

1. June St. James-Pfouts - August 4, 2016

Irving does indeed sound like an Oasis in the desert—of faithlessness or worse, betrayal of the Faith…of which you have shown examples and commented upon, much. Surely discovering Irving and it strong Catholic Community must be a sweet Grace for you.

Thank you for sharing it with your readers. Thank you especially for sharing the prayer .of the Precious Blood. No matter who wrote it, ultimately, the Holy Spirit is still the author who inspired it.

Thank you for sharing the paintings of the Two Hearts. This has very special meaning for me, and is actually in my “ID name.”

May God continue to bless and keep you and fill you with His insights and inspirations that (thank God) clarify so much of what we read in language that somehow misses the point.

June

2. The Lord's Blog - August 4, 2016

Reblogged this on Jean'sBistro2010's Blog.

3. A Mom - August 4, 2016

What a blessing that is for all of you! This is the first time that I’ve lived in “Protestant-land,” and the transition has been a bit difficult for me. There were thirty households in my old neighborhood and twelve of them were Catholic (not counting the “fallen away” Catholics). By contrast, there are two Catholic families in my current neighborhood of thirty-eight households and we joke that we’re taking over.

Of course the majority of Catholics back home, though numerous, are not what you would consider to be committed, but the effects of a once-vibrant Catholic community are still there and I miss it. I hope that makes sense; I have a difficult time explaining the difference to people for some reason.

A Mom - August 4, 2016

Correction: There are three Catholic families in my current neighborhood. That bumps us up from .05 to .08% !

A Mom - August 4, 2016

Or 5 to 8%. Clearly I need to step away from the keyboard and take a nap. No more comments from me today – I promise.

Tantumblogo - August 4, 2016

No you’re fine. Thanks for sharing.

Even though Irving is better, the Catholics are still pretty spread out. Our street is a cul de sac, and thankfully there is another good Catholic family two doors down with lots of kids for ours to play with, but there’s only two other Catholics I’m aware of on the street. One is very Novus Ordo but still faithful, they’re big pro-lifers and do quite a bit to support pro-life causes with their business, the other ones I don’t know much about. So out of maybe 19 houses on our street only 4 are Catholics that I know of. And three are muslim, but only one of those is conservative/hardcore. Only one wears the hijab. The other two are very secular. That’s the thing – Irving has a ton of muslims, too.

4. Baseballmom - August 4, 2016

What a beautiful prayer. Thank you.

5. Woody - August 4, 2016

I don’t know if he wrote the prayer but I received my copy from Fr. Wolfe.

6. Margaret Costello - August 5, 2016

Wonderful prayer:+) Thank you for sharing it:+) God bless~

7. John Quinn - August 6, 2016

That is a wonderful picture of the two hearts, one love by Isabel A. What a blessing she has been to the Quincy area. We will miss her.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

