jump to navigation

Non Sequitur – the Mighty Marlin 60 vs. the Righteous Ruger 10/22 August 4, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin, family, firearms, fun, non squitur, silliness, technology, watch.
trackback

Just a fun gun post.  I happen to own both a Marlin 60 and a Ruger 10/22 “tactical.”  Both are .22LR rimfire semi-auto rifles.  Both tend to be quite affordable, the Marlin much more so than the Ruger, especially when the Ruger is tricked out with folding stock, 25 round magazines, Picatinny rails, red dot sight, etc.

I happen to like both guns quite a bit. I’m not a big fan of “tacticool,” modding out guns with all kinds of synthetic stocks, rails, and accessories. They can certainly add a certain amount of utility to a firearm, but they tend to make them heavier and more unwieldy.  I’m just the kind of guy who would freeze at a critical moment trying to decide whether to fire, turn on the laser, use the flashlight, or grab the pistol grip.  Having said that, because it kind of came that way from the start, I’ve tricked out my 10/22 to a probably silly degree.  Pretty much all my other non-hunting rifles are bone stock.

Having said that, in many ways, I prefer the cheap little Marlin to the Ruger.  I think the Marlin’s action is better and smoother.  I think it’s slightly more accurate.  It weighs about half as much (acknowledging, much of that difference is my own fault). And, rather significantly, I’ve never been able to overrun the action of the Marlin with my finger, while I have done that with the Ruger, especially if the ammo isn’t of the best quality.  That is to say, I get a misfeed and the gun jams when trying to fire very quickly in semi-auto. Most of that is probably on the ammo, but I get the impression at times I’ve just flicked my finger faster than the action can work. I’ve never had that happen with the Marlin.

The Ruger has a big advantage in being magazine fed, and holding far more rounds (25 vs. 14 or 15 for the Marlin), if you have BX-25 magazines. Even if one only has the “stock” 10 round cylindrical magazine, it is far easier, and faster, to slap a new magazine in, than it is to reload a 14 round tube, even with speed-loading aids. It is very customizable.  The folding stock can be very handy.  As an entry-level “tactical” or “sporter” type gun, it’s very inexpensive and easy to handle.  With the Marlin, there’s very little around to customize it with, and even adding a scope requires buying special hardware for the rings.  Which, is no big deal, but I bet more than one owner has been frustrated to find that awesome new scope he just bought won’t mount on his rifle as it came from the store.

I really don’t think you can go wrong with either gun.  I agree with the gentleman in the first video, the Marlin 60 makes a very good first gun.  Perhaps not the first gun a child ever shoots – a break action gun might be a more prudent choice – but for a child somewhat experienced with firearms, it is an awesome “first gun” for them to own.  My kids have largely learned to shoot on one.  Even my more skittish daughters like the light weight and ease of handling the Marlin 60.

Pretty thorough review from the great Hickok45 on both guns:

One gun owner who agrees with my take, though most prefer the 10/22 to the Marlin.  I agree with his reasons:

Comments

1. Baseballmom - August 4, 2016

Well, on that topic we now have two safes filled to the brim… The eldest son had a house flood sooooo….. Yep…. And of course the hubs wants to make sure all the boy’s firearms are working real well 😉

Tantumblogo - August 4, 2016

Of course! It’s what a good dad does!

So if I added the kid’s guns to my own would I still be a piker at 15?

I found another good firearms reviewer/discusser on Youtube – Paul Harrell. A little different from Hickok45 and IraqVeteran8888, but I like him.

Baseballmom - August 5, 2016

15… That’s some fine progress…. Definitely more than a starter kit😉

2. hiker567 - August 4, 2016

BREAKING NEWS

Sorry to spoil a fun gun post with terrible news, but the National Institute of Health has proposed lifting the ban on the creation of human animal hybrids, known as chimeras. Please go to my blog to sign a petition against it. There will be public comments allowed for 30 days.

https://harvardisbumbling2.wordpress.com/2016/08/04/please-help-protest-the-proposed-creation-of-chimeras-human-animal-hybrids-by-the-national-institute-of-health/

3. Tim - August 5, 2016
4. Branch - August 5, 2016

The mighty Fr. Cekada blows away Salza and Siscoe’s book!: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dmjb5xw72C0

5. Camper - August 6, 2016

I remember that the Marlin model 60 used to cost about half what it does now, and that was only about ten years ago… yikes.

6. NickD - August 6, 2016

Tantum, what’s your e-mail? I have an …interesting… tale to recount regarding St. Mary’s in College Station. I’m sure none of it will surprise you, but I think you’d be interested

Camper - August 11, 2016

Would be interested in learning about this. camper15@gmx.com

7. Chris G. - August 7, 2016

Request for update, no sure where to put it, but figured this is the correct group to get the info. In a previous posting, I read the info on the choice of our bishop to place the signs in parishes regarding the posting of firearms. I saw the note that he might back down somewhat on the matter. Did they change the signs from banning conceal carry and open carry to banning open carry only. I thought previously I saw in my parish signs banning both. When I looked closely this morning (before sending my letter to diocese), I saw that they banned open carry only. Any clarification would be appreciated.

Tantumblogo - August 9, 2016

Apparently the policy did change. I’m not supposed to talk about it, for some reason, but yes I have now reports from several parishes that some or all of the signs have come down. Some are still banning open carry, some have taken down all signs. Thanks for your input, it does seem Bishop Farrell realized he was fighting a losing battle and that he wasn’t in DC any more.

8. Boniface - August 8, 2016

Hey! This is Boniface from USC. Sorry to spam your com box but I don’t have an email for you.

I just wrote a 40 page e-book on Laudato Si. I’d like to email you a complementary copy if maybe you would read it and promote it on your site. If you are interested, please email me at uscatholicam@gmail.com.

Pax!

Tantumblogo - August 9, 2016

E-mail sent. Can’t wait to get it.

9. Edison Frisbee - August 9, 2016

The Marlin is old school cool but I hear their QC is not what it used to be…

Tantumblogo - August 9, 2016

Had a lot fewer problems with mine than the 10/22, both of which were bought new in the past 2 years.

10. Edison Frisbee - August 11, 2016

I like Paul Harrell too….thanks for the heads-up1! He has a good point on the “extra round” concern with the Marlin (2:09 mark):


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

