jump to navigation

Please Pray for Mr. John Vennari August 18, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in Four Last Things, General Catholic, Holy suffering, Interior Life, manhood, sanctity, Spiritual Warfare, Tradition, true leadership.
trackback

It has been revealed that Mr. John Verrari has a very serious cancer.  He is requesting prayers.  His prognosis, according to his own testimony, is very grim.  I’ve never been a big reader of Vennari or Catholic Family News, but I have long appreciated his work.  But that is neither here nor there at this point, one of the brethren is in grave trouble, and needs our prayers on many counts, at the very least, for his healing, and for his preparation should the Lord call for the separation of his soul from his body in the near term:

I had not yet intended to reveal this news, but today it was leaked on to another website. I am reluctantly compelled go public earlier than I had hoped.

On August 11 I received a grave prognosis.I have a cancerous tumor in my colon and the cancer has spread to the peritoneum.

The only thing the cancer institute offers is chemotherapy. And even this is not something that will cure, but only contain it for a time.

As I am not interested chemotherapy, I am now pursuing alternative/natural means under the guidance of competence medical personnel, including an MD.

I only mention this now because the news was sent out prematurely by a well-meaning individual who circulated a private email on the topic that ended up posted on a website. I had intended for this news to remain private for the moment.

In any case, as time goes on, I will reveal more.

The case is remarkably serious. I am keeping busy and staying upbeat. For now I’ve been feeling well.

The malady first manifested itself in the form of intense indigestion, something that does not necessarily send one running for cancer screening. Through a series of events, however, we received the diagnosis last week.

Saint Philomena has featured heavily in this drama in a manner I will perhaps describe in the future (look at the date of prognosis, the feast of St. Philomena).

My family is making a novena to both Our Lady of Good Success and Saint Philomena.

I ask you to please remember my condition in your prayers and get others to pray, including convents of nuns.

Thank you for your prayers and encouragement.

In JMJ,

John Vennari

PS: A number of generous souls have already asked if we need financial assistance in this fight. I regret to say we do, but I have nothing formally set up. In the meantime, anyone who would like to help can go to this temporary webpage. Go to: http://www.oltyn.org/page5/page5.html

It is very remarkable that Fr. Nicholas Gruner, with whom Vennari had a very close relationship, died just over a year ago.  It may seem strange that the Lord would call two such men in this time of increasing crisis, but perhaps there is mercy in that, at least for them.  Suffice it to say, no one could ever doubt Mr. Vennari’s concern and love for Holy Mother Church.  I am reminded of the death of my friend and colleague Vicki Middleton, who felt similar symptoms (serious problems of digestion), received a very grim cancer prognosis in summer 2012, and was dead a few weeks later.  I wondered why the Lord would call a woman at the prime of her apostolate, who had done and was doing such great works on behalf of the Church and souls.

Then we saw the re-election of Obama, the abdication of Benedict, and the election of Francis.  Vicki had been a late-life convert to the Faith, and even though very much on fire, still had a lot of protestant in her. Perhaps our Blessed Lord knew all those blows would have been very hard for Vicki, and instead of letting her endure more suffering in this life, with all the risks that involved, exercised a mercy far beyond our comprehension.  I still pray for her every day.

This may ultimately develop into a sad event with Vennari’s passing, but even that may be a very blessed thing.  We should not lament the passing of such souls, but have great hope for them, and pray with great fervor for the repose of their souls.

But, I suppose, I am getting ahead of myself.  Perhaps the Lord will work another kind of miracle, which will astound and edify many souls.  May that be His Will.  Please keep Mr. Vennari in your prayers, which I know you will.

Comments

1. Mary Sill - August 18, 2016

Maybe the St. Philomena–miracle worker–date concurrence is a great sign of hope. The first small sign of my cancer, much less advanced while an aggressive type, that’s hopefully cured now, came on the Annunciation Feast in 2015. I didn’t accept suggested chemo, but remain with natural medicine and a good diet. Especially avoid sugar!

2. Margaret Costello - August 18, 2016

May Our Lord bless Mr. Vennari with healing or whatever the will of the Father may be. Catholic Family News has been such a blessing to so many in these troubling times…Our Lord knows what this is all about and will bring great good from it regardless the outcome. God bless~

3. Colleen Hammond - August 18, 2016

John is a dear friend and one of the only people I told about my own battle with breast cancer. Praying for a miracle — for John and for myself. But, as always, open to God’s will. God has a plan!!!

LaGallina - August 19, 2016

Colleen, I’ve been praying for you daily! Now I’ve added Mr. Vennari to my prayer list.

Colleen Hammond - August 19, 2016

Thank you so much, LaGallina! Thanks to the generous prayers (and donations to my treatment fund!), the healing process is going fairly well. God has a plan and we don’t want Satan to steal it!!!❤

4. Doc Outa' The Box - August 19, 2016

This may sound a bit clinical, and I apologize for that. I am a primary care physician – in the trenches. I consider that people who hate the thought of a colonoscopy are very well adjusted mentally.

Nonetheless, to a person, each of my patients who have refused or never gotten around to having a screening colonoscopy and subsequently developed colon cancer have implored me to tell everyone else to do so. They have the best testimonials for gritting your teeth and getting the study done. Many of these good people are no longer among the living.

I entered the practice of medicine when this study was not so widely available and the diagnosis was made at a later stage. Those prognoses were not encouraging.

John Vennari is a warrior for the Faith. His contribution has been commensurate with that of Michael Davies. It saddens me greatly to hear this news. Obviously I have no insight as to whether or not he received the proper screening. Yes, I have read that some have developed the disease despite proper screening, but I have yet to meet one. No screening exam is perfect.

We may well be entering an era when the current liberal application of this benefit will be curtailed. Since it is available now it should be taken advantage of.

All of the above comments are from a natural perspective. I am sensitive to the supernatural perspective of all this as well. I will pray that God’s will be done in the case of this good man and should he be taken from us, I pray that it be straight into the Beatific Vision.

Tantumblogo - August 19, 2016

Doc –

At what age do you recommend people start getting colonoscopies? I’m coming up on 45. About time?

tg - August 19, 2016

My doctor recommended it at age 50. But if you have family members with a history of colon cancer, you should have a colonoscopy earlier. I’ve had two so far – 50 and 60. It’s not a big deal. You’re asleep and don’t feel a thing. Of course, it is an invasive procedure and there is a risk. I will keep John in my prayers.

Doc Outa' The Box - August 19, 2016

We do the best we can to use epidemiology to create these recommendations. The general recommendation is to begin this sort of screening at 50. If there is a family history of colon cancer, usually understood to mean a first-order relative, then the screening begins earlier. Also, if the person in question has certain other factors in their own personal history (like Crohn’s Disease as one of a number of examples) the screening begins earlier.

There is more disagreement as to how often these exams should be performed in a person whose colonoscopy was normal. I recommend every five years beginning at 50 and ending at 75. Many credible authorities believe a ten year interval is sufficient.

Those whose exams have resulted in discovering a significant cancer at any early stage are put on an accelerated surveillance schedule.

With few exceptions colon cancer is very slow to progress. Once it is symptomatic it has typically been there for years unnoticed. This explains why a long interval between exams is sufficient and also explains why it is prudent to look for it at a stage where it can be dealt with very easily. By the time symptoms appear the picture into the future is not a pleasant one.

With insurance companies and the government increasingly imposing the Department of Motor Vehicles model on the practice of medicine, what might make sense in an individual case will have no bearing. So that when you might want to have something done or your doctor might wish you to have something will be beside the point.

I have no knowledge of Mr. Vennari’s own personal circumstances. It is the very fact that he is in this grave danger and that he is a man who is so important to so many of us that compels me to remind others. All of us will die, but when means are available to avoid an otherwise unnecessarily early death, a good argument can be made that it is prudent to avail oneself of those means. There are many surviving families of those who did not who wish their loved ones had.

Tim - August 19, 2016

My maternal grandmother died from colon cancer at age 60 and my mother nearly died from it at age 64,,,,,she is 74 and in remission. I had a benign polyp removed in 2013. The recommended my next on in 2018…..sound reasonable doctor? I will turn 54 in 12 days.

Doc Outa' The Box - August 19, 2016

I think so. If the grandmother you speak of is the mother of your mother the condition of familial polyposis should be (and likely has been) ruled out. Sounds like you were evaluated earlier than usual, likely due to your family history – and that was very good. Now that you have had a normal exam and assuming FP has been ruled out five years is quite reasonable. God bless you and may Sts. Cosmas and Damian watch over you.

Tantumblogo - August 19, 2016

So the fact that my paternal grandfather developed colon cancer in his 80s is probably not significant enough to warrant early screening?

Doc Outa' The Box - August 19, 2016

Tantum, every authoritative recommendation I know of refers only to first-degree relatives. Moreover, even if he had been a first-degree relative, the fact that he developed it in his 80s (which probably means he began to develop it sometime in his 60s) is a lower-risk situation. Even in that case most authorities would not recommend accelerating your surveillance schedule.

I remind my patients that all of these recommendations are not to be confused with those tablets Moses brought down from the mountain. There is no charism of infallibility operating here. So when a patient of mine is going to spend five years ill-at-ease worried about something like this I’ll work to somehow get it done sooner to put them at ease. There is value in that.

But, no, purely objectively speaking the recommendation for you, based upon current knowledge, would be to start at fifty.

God bless you, good friend.

Tantumblogo - August 19, 2016

Fine with me. Unless there was a serious concern, and I certainly trust your judgment, I’d rather wait. I don’t look forward to any part of the process from the night before to the thorough mapping of my nether parts.

5. thatwomaninthelibary - August 19, 2016

Doctor, Mr. Vennari is dying. Could we have the finger wagging later?

Tim - August 19, 2016

I think that the doctor’s post was done in charity and was worded very well. I never got a sense that he we “finger wagging”.

Tantumblogo - August 19, 2016

I know with a moral certainty that was completely not the case, it was done in charity to help others avoid, or catch as early as possible, a disease that takes many lives.

Doc Outa' The Box - August 20, 2016

Dear Woman in the Library:

Please forgive me. I had no intention of failing in respect to Mr. Vennari or any of the readers. I also apologize to anyone else who might have found my remarks out of place. You are to be commended for standing up in this way for what appeared to be a slight to a good man.

6. Magdalene - August 19, 2016

Yes, we may be losing another giant defender of the faith. Michael Davies was also a great loss. The times are confusing and the immoral mess of our society is engulfing us and we desperately need clear headed voices reminding us of the truths of our faith that can not and will not change.

7. mary918 - August 19, 2016

I’m appreciative of Doc’s remarks here. May God help us all, according to His plan for us.

mary918 - August 19, 2016

mary918 is Mary Sill…newly using wordpress…

8. Tim - August 19, 2016

I had the good fortune to meet Mr. Vennari at the 2005 Catholic Family News Conference. He was a very pleasant and humble man. I have subscribed for years and deeply appreciate his work. The CD’s on Dr. Water’s lectures on philosophy, ethics, etc.are excellent.

Praying for him and his family.

9. Tim - August 20, 2016

In addition to his serious work for Catholic Tradition, John had the gift of humor. We all need that in these troubled time or we’ll go batty!

Tim - August 20, 2016

Typo correction…..”has” not “had”…..my aging fingers are not as accurate anymore!!

10. paselma@aol.com - August 20, 2016

I am a friend of Mary Jane Drndak of Dallas who first emailed your blogs to me; I then began receiving them myself. I would email Vicki Middleton for years. She went to some pilgrimage site (I’ve been to a lot of pilgrimage sites by the grace of GOD and at my age, mix up sometimes who was where) and I took a photo of Vicki, which I sent to her, with Vicki and Fr. Peter M. Rookey of the Chicago area, the “Man of Miracles” with the miraculous gifts of healing whom I volunteered for, for decades. (Fr. Rookey died September 10, 2014.)

Then I suddenly got no response to my emails to Vicki. Never knew what happened. Thank you so much for letting me know that Vicki went to GOD. If you have any other information from Vicki I would so appreciate it !!!

P.S. Please do not put this info online, but MJ’s medical problems are getting to where she does not have feeling enough in her feet, especially her right foot, to enable her to work the gas and brake pedals. We ask the LORD’s intercession for her healing of this; and if that is not what the LORD plans, help her with all she needs. Please keep MJ in prayer. And I will definitely pray for John Vennari. I remember my beloved aunt dying of cancer of the peritoneum in 1979. It was ….. very, very hard.

Gratefully yours,

SARA paselma@aol.com SARA CONNELLY ZERVOS

11. Joseph Arthur - August 22, 2016

I am praying for John Vennari. Notice he is using natural means instead of chemo for his cancer. I believe in eating organic foods and using natural means of curing diseases. I am not going to argue with the doctor’s comments, but before anyone runs out to get a colonoscopy, Google ‘colonoscopy dangers’ or ‘colonoscopy warnings’ first. I had one in 1985 when I was 40 because I had rectal bleeding but 2 weeks later I was in great pain and had to go to the hospital. I was there 5 weeks and finally they re-sected or cut out part of my small bowel and I have been taking medicine, cholestyramine, for it for 30 years now and until the day I die. Otherwise I would have daily loose bowels. I believe my bowel was pierced but I have no proof. It is one of the risks of colonoscopy along with the fact that the scope is hard to clean and may cause an infection. There are other options now like a virtual colonoscopy. Just a warning. Use your own judgment. God bless you Mr. Vennari.

Joseph Arthur

Doc Outa' The Box - August 25, 2016

You are quite correct, Mr. Arthur, and thank you for your comments. Yes, there are risks to colonoscopy. Just about anything we do (or in many cases do not do) is associated with some level of risk. Often we do these things without even considering the risks they involve, like driving our cars. The question is – which is the greater risk – getting a colonoscopy or not getting one? With the evidence we currently have available, foregoing screening colonoscopy is associated with the greater risk. We will never lack for people who disagree. That comes with the territory. We will also never lack for exceptions to the rule, which your case might be.

As I said at the outset, the most credible proponents for getting this screening are those who have refused it and subsequently developed the condition.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

