jump to navigation

I Repudiate Thee, UT August 31, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in abdication of duty, Abortion, asshatery, contraception, disaster, error, foolishness, General Catholic, horror, rank stupidity, scandals, secularism, self-serving, sexual depravity, sickness, Society, unbelievable BS.
trackback

Becoming a convicted Catholic has, as I’ve mentioned a number of times, required me to change my beliefs on a broad range of subjects.  I have tried to do this to the best of my ability, and it remains an ongoing project.  One small area where I’ve changed my thinking quite dramatically is with regard to my college alma mater.  I loved going to UT, even though engineering school was hell (first day, all the freshman ME majors are brought into a room.  The instructor says: look to your left, look to your right, those people will not graduate with you.  And that was an understatement).  I loved the town, I loved the giant, impersonal campus, I loved the sink or swim attitude, the absolute absence of hand-holding, I loved the sports, I loved Bevo, I loved almost all of it.

One of the few things I did not love, however, was the preponderance of liberal knuckleheads.  It’s a misnomer commonly spread by Aggies, who in their ignorance don’t know any better, that everyone at UT is a liberal.  That is far from true.  There is (or was) a very strong conservative undercurrent, especially in the ROTC and Greek communities and certain academic departments.  UT has one of the largest Greek communities in the country, in terms of total population (if not as a percentage of the student body).  The engineering and business schools were also centers of conservatism on campus, at least 20 years ago.  But, overall, it is true, UT had a decided liberal bent, especially among the jackass West Campus types, mostly majoring in some waste of time liberal arts major (sorry if I have hurt your feelings).

Back then, before the internet, however, we could largely pretend they didn’t exist.  On campus, the only time I ever encountered silly liberals was when I had to walk past the Undergraduate Library (the worst place to study on campus) and across Guadalupe to get to the frat house.  That area, called the “West Mall,” was always filled with boneheads. But, since I lived so far off campus and drove every day, that almost never happened.  And Lord knows, none of you ever came to our corner of the campus, at Speedway and 26th, where the engineering and hard sciences were located.  Aside from an odd party or two, the two worlds almost never met.

About the only time we would learn of some leftist idiocy, was when it would appear in the pages of The Daily Texan, after the fact.

But back to my original point. My feelings regarding UT today are decidedly different, ranging from half-hearted at best to outright hostility at times.  I still have very fond memories, I know UT prepared me exceedingly well for many aspects of life, not so much what I learned in engineering school, which largely had nothing to do with practical, day-to-day engineering, but by learning how to function in the world without help, without backup, without mom or dad or counselor or kind professor there to hold your hand and pat you on the head and tell you everything will be OK, like they do at A&M.  It prepared me for a cold, hard, uncaring world.  And, UT rightly deserves its reputation as a top-rank public institution with very strong faculty and facilities, especially the very high-tech JJ Pickle Research Campus in north Austin, which I frequented a number of times even as an undergraduate.

Far more importantly, however, I met my wife there.  No other event shaped the course of my life, and helped insure I would arrive at the point I am at today, than that.

But, overall, I feel in many respects coldly disaffected from my alma mater. The beliefs so commonly taught there (and I think the politicization of academics, the leftist propaganda, is much, much deeper than it was 20 years ago), the immoral behaviors, the hookup culture that is EVERYWHERE in colleges today, the endless threats to the Faith: I just don’t think I could, in good conscience, allow my kids to go there.  Or almost any other major university, for that matter. While I can say: “I made it through there, even as something of a pagan, and so it can’t be that bad,” I know, in many respects, I just got lucky.  If it hadn’t been for my wife and her prayers (and those of her mother, RIP), I could just as easily be a dead, divorced addict.  UT didn’t cause my addiction, but it certainly didn’t help it, either.

I just see so many problems. For one thing, the Newman Center at UT has always been atrocious.  It was awful 25 years ago, and remains so today, from what I understand.  There is no St. Mary’s, a la A&M, to help bolster the faith of a young person far from home (not that I’m comfortable sending my kids there, either). I know how I behaved at UT as a young nominal protestant…….I sure do not wish that on my kids.

When I see things like the below, however, which I really can’t even share without violating the standards of this blog (you are warned), it just clinches the matter for me.  I know that even today, UT is not entirely dominated by idiot liberals, but, still………what the blankety blank do sex toys have to do with concealed carry?  What idiot thought this up, and, even more, gave permission for this demonstration, right on the very steps of the administration building?

Hundreds of University of Texas students waved sex toys at a campus rally during the first day of classes, protesting a new state law that allows concealed handguns in college classrooms, buildings and dorms.

Organizers said the sex toys were used Wednesday to mock what they consider an absurd notion that guns should be allowed in academic settings. The law took effect Aug. 1.

Students and faculty at the Austin campus fiercely opposed allowing license holders to carry their concealed handguns to class. One prominent dean left the school after the law passed in 2015. Several faculty members attended the rally.

Organizers said they distributed more than 4,500 free sex toys.
ut-rally
Is that supposed to be burnt orange?  You're doing it wrong.

Is that supposed to be burnt orange? You’re doing it wrong.

Lying, immoral hypocrites. You want to know how I make that judgment call?  Because, from experience, I can be morally certain that 99% of these individuals are fervent pro-aborts, having absolutely no problem with baby murder, and in fact being passionately in favor of it.  This in spite of the fact that there are 3-day weekends with more babies killed than are murdered by firearms in an entire year in this country.  And that doesn’t even begin to touch on the millions killed by chemical abortion through use of the pill, etc.

This is diabolical disorientation defined, just totally freaking out over people exercising their natural right to self defense responsibly, while being just as passionate (how many of these same people were involved in the satanic protests against anti-abortion legislation in 2013?) that there is absolutely nothing wrong with the mass slaughter – a practical genocide – of perfectly innocent babies.  And these are the “educators,” the formers of young minds.

No thanks.  I repudiate thee, UT.  Get your money somewhere else.

And if you want to research this story more, I suggest you be very careful, as most articles are carrying explicit images of the sexual devices distributed there – nearly 5,000, apparently.  It seems the UT administration has absolutely no problem with the moral corruption of the youth in its charge.  But, heck, I knew that already.

Comments

1. skeinster - August 31, 2016

Last night’s Overnight Open Thread at Ace of Spades had a cartoon:
http://www.ace.mu.nu/.

a slightly less explicit image, but language.

Tantumblogo - August 31, 2016

You read Ace too, skeinster?

Sally Box - September 1, 2016

Yes, just the articles, don’t have time for the comments.
Especially during the election cycle.

Tantumblogo - September 1, 2016

Oh, me too. I never read the comments. There are 500-2000 on most posts.

2. Margaret Costello - August 31, 2016

Those dumb blind hippies might change their tune when a deranged Muslim decides to go all “Allah-Akbar” on them and one of the concealed carried students takes them out:+) Good for you that you enjoyed the lack of hand holding and sink or swim attitude at UT. I thought I would like that too when I went to college but found out quick I needed the hand holding and couldn’t swim to save my life:+) God bless~

3. Woody - August 31, 2016

Since they will be in town this weekend, perhaps the UT admin could get a few ND football players to speak of the danger of caring a concealed weapon without a license.

4. MFG - September 1, 2016

I’ve visited many college towns but none had a demonic cloud over it like Austin (that was in the 90s). I try to avoid that city like the plague. It’s a shame because the state Capitol is there yet that campus produces much vile in the state.

H-town - September 1, 2016

That’s just the Kappa Sigs exploding their underwear out of old smokey on Texas Independence Day.

Tantumblogo - September 1, 2016

You got me. I was in a lesser Fraternity. Sure did have fun at the last Roundup, though. I guess it’s back now after a long hiatus. Don’t know if it’s the same as it was before. One of the few vague memories I retain from that weekend was the TWO empty 40 ft Coors Light trucks in front of the Sigma Nu house.

MrT - September 2, 2016

As a clueless nerd leaving high school on the lower Texas Gulf Coast in the mid 1970s, my parents expected me to go to college and get good grades and a good job. My choices: if I screwed around or otherwise displeased them, I was destined to learn with the goat ropers at Texas A&I (known today as Texas A&M Kingsville); if I felt like joining a cult, Texas A&M; I might have veered off to U of H or to San Marcos, but I perceived I would best go to The University. Looking, back: Too big. EE profs were jerks. Too many weirdos. Too many frats. (Sorry TB). Wish I had the initiative to figure out what I really wanted to do. Instead I got lost and unhappy, but managed to eek out enough passing grades to earn a degree in only 4 years and get out of there before the evil place ate me alive. How stupid was I to not do something about it then. Oh well. Hook em. Lessons learned: Not everyone is suited for college. Not everyone thrives at a 40,000+ student campus. Maybe most guys should learn a trade or craft. Save college for the brilliant students. Society needs some changes for this to work.

5. H-town - September 1, 2016

“I loved going to UT, even though engineering school was hell.”

wuss

6. Camper - September 1, 2016

I don’t know what UT is like, but St. Mary’s in College Station is barbaric. Two priests for a crowd of 5,000, and since it’s a novus ordo parish, there is chaos. Granted, only perhaps 100 of those 5000 students actually go to events other than Sunday mass. Then there is the fact that the egalitarianism at A&M is insane – a case of the lunatics running the asylum. The mania of the masses for football, the isolation, and the sheer ugliness of campus make A&M a bad choice for many. That doesn’t even get into teaching there, which in my opinion is overrated. I remember using lab manuals that were not clear at all – horrible. Anybody who can afford Benedictine or better yet, TAC should go there instead. Probably a better choice for those who can’t afford Benedictine would be a relatively well-rounded public school in another Texas metro area. College Station is so isolated it really is horrible.

Sally Box - September 1, 2016

I guess about a quarter of those 100 wound up at our parish here in Dallas.

Camper - September 1, 2016

Do you mean Mater Dei or somewhere else?

Sally Box - September 1, 2016

Mater Dei. A lot of Aggie Catholics there. Not to mention their friends that I’ve met.

Camper - September 1, 2016

Then they must have learned civilization from a fraternity priest, not the savage priests who run St. Mary’s.

7. David - September 1, 2016

I don’t know what the tone of the University Catholic Center is like today at UT. I know at one time it was staffed by clergy from the Paulist order, of which Fr. Ed Beck is a member, and that is the order whose Masses are televised on Sunday morning from New York that remind me of the Masses I attended as a kid in the late 70s and in the 80s.

I do recall meeting Catholic students at UT, and some would go to a discernment group off campus (I think it was St. Austin’s) and some would attend Mass off campus. When Fr. Sis was a newly ordained priest, he was assigned to the Cathedral, which wasn’t too far for students to walk.

I do remember visiting St. Edward’s University in Austin a few times between 1986 and 1989. Like most of the Catholic colleges in San Antonio (I attended one there) St. Edward’s was somewhat of a small college with a Catholic label. At that time, there were also students at St. Edward’s that were trying to get their grades up so they could transfer to UT – not very many students stayed at St. Edward’s to graduate.

8. Tim - September 1, 2016
9. virtuouscitizenship - September 2, 2016

David-There are now no catholic colleges or universities in San Antonio; and St. Edwards ceased being such long ago.

TB-as always-you have spurred me on to thing creatively. As a UT alum you have the status to push a “Penis Free UT”. Think of all the problems you could solve if there are no assault penises on campus. You say “not every penis is an assault penis?” But, anyone can be used as one at any time. Can you not see the following uproar? Demands for equality: “Vagina Free UT.” And away with all the assault vaginas. Guy McClung, San Antonio, Texas

Camper - September 2, 2016

This is mixed company. What you have said is very gross.

10. such a nerdette - September 3, 2016

Belonging to a fraternity and having access to a car to drive to class every day counts as hand holding to me. (Sorry).

Weren’t there campus buses you could take ?

I did undergraduate at the Univ. of Dallas in the early eighties, then business school at UT. Used to be, maybe still, a fair number of UD graduates go to UT graduate school. When I was there, UD grads. from my own class also studied chemistry, I believe also biochemistry, also philosophy/classics, plus others in the business school… We could certainly hold out own at the cafeteria table discussions with the other graduate students. I and a couple of students from UD started out living on the graduate student floor in that massive dormitory (Jester). Best part to me was living with other graduate students. So many different disciplines represented. I felt it was great socially, I felt they were my kind of people (not necessarily Catholic, but they were serious about their studies)…Did meet a serious Catholic or two in the dorm as well who were not from UD. And a law student from SMU – not Catholic but a serious Christian. A few other Christians, too. Plus a moslem. Of course moral behavior wasn’t necessarily practiced across the board. Boy, these people I went to school with are making me look smart by association !!!

Camper - September 3, 2016

UD is okay but TAC is much better for the liberal arts all around. Also, I once met a philosophy graduate from UD who had honors but who had never read the Republic. That wouldn’t happen at TAC. Also, it’s important to know Austrian Economics, particularly the Austrian Theory of the Business Cycle to know about the coming economic collapse. People who haven’t been to TAC and who don’t know Austrian Economics really are contemptible.

Tantumblogo - September 6, 2016

Duly noted. There isn’t the abundance of undergraduate tutors/advisers/counselors as there are at some places like a&m, and that is what I was referring to.

11. Dennis Hogan - September 5, 2016

The Austin I remember from my youth (50s and 60s) has been ruined. Ditto for the towns between there and San Antonio. UT only had only a small role in that.

My father was a St. Edward’s grad. He started there in 1939 and finished up after WW 2. The small engineering department was dissolved during the war so he finished up his course work elsewhere.

By coincidence he was sent to Notre Dame for Navy V-12 Midshipmen’s school in 1943. A ND alum I work with told me recently that the Navy “saved” Notre Dame by virtually taking it over during WW 2.

My wife (with more degrees than a thermometer including a canon law degree) is a 1970s alumna of the University of Dallas. I think she received a very rigorous liberal arts and theology education there. So did many of my Bishop Lynch classmates. The UD Rome program is an excellent feature of the school.

I too could have attended UD but chose to go to Loyola University in New Orleans for a degree in physics. The Jesuit way never rubbed off on me. I can think of only two or three Jesuits there who earned my respect during my entire four years. Others, not so much. The student population was pretty much pagan. I survived though.

Physics was not easy. The numbers of undergraduate physics majors were down at most universities in the early 70s. Tulane and Loyola combined some of the upper level physics classes—sometimes taught at Loyola by a Loyola prof, sometimes taught at Tulane by a Tulane prof.

12. I take it all back!!!!! | A Blog for Dallas Area Catholics - September 6, 2016

[…] I take it all back. I love you UT, so very, very much: […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

