jump to navigation

Prayer Request September 8, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin, Domestic Church, family, General Catholic, Holy suffering, sadness, Virtue.
trackback

Very, very longtime readers may recall the name SSGT Mark Juarez USMC.  Mark is a cousin to my brother-in-law.  I had not seen him in a few years, but I ran into him this past weekend.  He was traumatically injured in combat in Afghanistan in 2010 during his seventh deployment overseas.  He just retired from the Marine Corps after 16 years of service, but due to his severe injury and 100% disability the Marines “bumped” him to 20 years effective and so he’ll get the normal retirement benefits.

Which, is a very large transition.  Many servicemembers, especially combat veterans, have a difficult time transitioning to a civilian life.  I imagine that may be doubly true in the case of a debilitating injury. He’s a father of three lovely girls so that will obviously take a great deal of his time.  Since his injury, Mark has had to re-learn so many things many of us take for granted – walking, reading, writing, etc.

So there’s that, but Mark has a great deal else going on of a personal nature.  I’d like to ask your prayers for him again.  His recovery from his original injuries was truly miraculous and I’m certain the prayer of many good souls associated with this blog had at least a little to do with that.   He’s in need of a different kind of, and possibly bigger, miracle now.  It is not health-related, thank God, as he’s been through enough (including being a survivor of the horrific Midland veteran’s parade float truck/train collision disaster that killed several) in that regard, and it’s also not PTSD or anything of that sort.  It’s a personal matter.

If you could add him to your regular list of intentions for an indefinite period, I would certainly appreciate it.  I have added he and his family to mine, among several families for which I am praying at present.  At the very least, pray that this latest suffering may redound to his further sanctification. Enough said.

Comments

1. Margaret Costello - September 8, 2016

Praying right now. I know about being pummeled with both physical and spiritual suffering for very long periods of time. I found it’s all God’s way of pulling us closer to Him, letting go of things still in our will, teaching us His perspective, and surrendering at a deeper level if that makes sense.

May Our Lord bless Him with His grace, healing, presence, love, support, wisdom, hope, strength and insight:+) God bless~

2. Brian E. Breslin - September 8, 2016

You got it, Tantum- as you finished – enough said. This squid promises praying for that awesome Jarhead.

3. skeinster - September 8, 2016

On the list.

4. Baseballmom - September 9, 2016

Added to the list. Thanks for asking.

5. inthe2hearts - September 9, 2016

Prayers for this Marine, Tantum, SSGT Mark Juarez and his family, will be added to my prayer journal for those carrying heavy Crosses of Life Threatening, disabling, or Chronic illnesses indefinitely, as you asked. The nature of his suffering isn’t necessary for anyone else to know other than his good and kind friends such as you and your own family, and our merciful and loving God. Thank you, SSGT Mark Juarez, for your service to a grateful Nation. June

Tantumblogo - September 9, 2016

I forgot to add, Mark is a convicted Catholic. That’s a huge aid in his sufferings, obviously, and an advantage many wounded veterans do not have.

6. A Mom - September 9, 2016

Will keep him in my prayers.

7. tg - September 9, 2016

will keep him in my prayers – at least will try to remember. So many people to pray for that at times I just say for those that I am supposed to pray for via emails, etc.

8. MFG - September 9, 2016

Will do.

9. Mrs. Maureen Avila - September 9, 2016

I Added Mark and his family to my special intentions prayer list.
I offer tanks for his courage and dedication to our country during his multiple tours of duty.

Tantumblogo - September 9, 2016

Thank all of you so much! I appreciate it and I know Mark and his family will.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

