jump to navigation

Seven Years December 10, 2016

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin.
trackback

Saturday, December 10 marks the 7th anniversary of this blog.  I started it because I became aware of heresy being promoted as good catechesis in this Diocese of Dallas.  Several thousand rants, a steady migration to a traditional parish, and one bishop later, I can’t say much has changed in the catechesis department.  I, however, believe I have learned a great deal. I pray the blog has been occasionally edifying and entertaining for you.

It’s been a privilege to be able to express my opinions as I have, and to have them read by so many people.  Amazingly, over 1 million people have dropped by at least once over the years.  It is daunting to think what account I may be held to for whatever influence – good or bad – I’ve had on that many souls.  I pray God be merciful to me, and judge that even if the “product” wasn’t always what it should have been, the intent has pretty much always been in the right place.

Here’s to more posts in future.  As I previously indicated, I may transition a bit away from some topics I feel done to death and try to get back to more solid catechesis, which pray God might serve as a bit of an antidote to the garbage generally taught to souls both here in Dallas and abroad.

As in all things, however I move forward or whatever the future brings, may God’s will always be done.

 

Comments

1. Margaret Costello - December 10, 2016

Happy Anniversary Tantamblogo:+) Thank you for the ministry you provide of unraveling the lies and presenting the Catholic truth in answer instead. Many of us have had little to no catechesis in our lives due to the failures in the Church. Thus your attempt to remedy that for us via your blog is an act of justice, of reparation and mostly an act of love/charity. THANK you for that:+) You shed light and truth for us during this current darkness.

Merry Christmas and may Our Lord bless you and your family abundantly with His grace, love, protection and joy:+)

God bless~

Tantumblogo - December 10, 2016

Thank you all kindly. I really appreciate the support of you regular readers and commenters. You guys make it a lot more fun.

2. Baseballmom - December 10, 2016

Blessings on your anniversary- my anniversary gift may even arrive tomorrow 😉

3. Brian E. Breslin. - December 10, 2016

Tantum, you are aces in my book! Well done on the seven years and many to come in health and peace.

4. johnbryson - December 10, 2016

Hi Tantumblogo

Congratulations on the blog. I have often wondered to myself how on earth you manage to post so much with a full time job, commuting to and from work, spending time with and homeschooling your six kids, and spending time with your wife. Wow…. It tires me just to think about it! When do you read and write??

I am sure God will look upon your blog as a great act of charity to us readers – and overlook any faults he may find. And anyways – what he may find more exemplary is when you publically correct yourself for a less than average post. That my friend is true virtue in action!

Well done! And may gos Bless you and your family.

5. Chris Baker - December 10, 2016

Congrats! I look forward to more posts on prayer and spirituality. Your blog tends to get bigger responses to the politics and punditry entries, but I think you do a far better job when you focus on the Faith and not the foofaraw.

6. Camper - December 10, 2016

Thanks for your blog, TB. God bless, Camper

7. The Lord's Blog - December 10, 2016

Reblogged this on Jean'sBistro2010's Blog and commented:
EXCELLENT BLOG.

8. damselofthefaith - December 11, 2016

Thanks for your great work, Tantum! Keep it up and Happy Anniversary!

9. Tim - December 11, 2016

Happy anniversary Tantum! Your blog has steadily become my favorite out there. God bless you and your efforts. Merry Christmas!
Tim

10. MT - December 11, 2016

I’ve only been following you for a year, but have thoroughly enjoyed and learned much through your writing. Thank you.

11. Amillennial - December 11, 2016

Congratulations, amigo. May you have another blessed seven years.

12. Barbara Hvilivitzky - December 12, 2016

Your blog is one I go to daily, even from here in the Great White North. I learn a lot, from your posts, and from some of the comments. As well, it is heartening to ‘hang out’ with faithful Catholics every day!!! Keep up the good work and God bless you and your family in 2017.
Barbara from Canada

13. skeinster - December 12, 2016

Congratulations on the blogiversary. As I tell Mrs. Tantum, you’re kind of famous in the Tradosphere. More people than you know are influenced by the blog.

Looking forward to less “ain’t it awful” and more “glories of the Faith” in the future. Very grateful for all your perseverance and hard work.

Safe travels and a blessed rest of Advent!

14. MFG - December 12, 2016

Congrats Tantum! You’ve been a light of tradition to many and I’m sure you’ve led many to explore traditional parishes. Looking forward to your new focus and 7 more years.

15. LaGallina - December 14, 2016

Congratulations. You have been my #1 source for understanding the post-Vatican 2 Church. Actually, you’ve been my #1 source for Catholic news in general. You were a life saver (or maybe I should say a faith saver — no pun intended) when I found you a month or two after the election of Francis the Merciful. Literally! At the time I thought Mark Shea and Jimmy Akin were the most authentic Catholics on the planet! And, boy, did they have me frustrated and confused! When I found your blog (and AudioSancto around the same time) I was so relieved to discover Catholics who did not sound like wishy-washy Protestants.

16. rcc - December 15, 2016

Thanks so much for your blog and all of your great posts!
I hope you continue to post for many more years.

One thing that I wanted to mention though, that you are probably not aware of, is that the one movie that is on your wish list, “Friday Night Lights,” is a morally offensive film. There is content in it that as Catholics we should not view (even if we fast forward through the bad parts.) We should not watch a film that we not watch if Our Blessed Mother was present with us. This film is one of them. (even if the film contains a story line we think is good etc.

A great website Kidsinmind tells all of the sex in nudity in movies and blasphemies etc..

below is what is in the film as far as sex and nudity:

SEX/NUDITY 4 – A young man and a young woman kiss passionately while walking into a darkened house, they lie back on a sofa, they remove their shirts (we see him bare-chested and her in a bra), they continue kissing and are interrupted by the young man’s father. A young woman gets dressed (we see her in panties and a top) while a bare-chested young man fastens his pants — implying that they have had sex — and she kisses him. Young men and young women are shown kissing and caressing each other in several scenes. Young men and young women dance close together. A young man tries to convince another young man to go to a party with him and makes crude remarks about the probability of having sex with young women. A young woman asks a young man if he is gay, then asks him to prove that he is not. We see many bare-chested young men with towels wrapped around their waists in a locker room. While they flip and jump in several scenes, cheerleaders wear short skirts that reveal bare thighs. A young man is shown bare-chested while running. Young women wear low-cut tops that reveal cleavage.

There are also religious profanities in the movie as well.

Which reminds me of a good sermon I heard from a Holy Traditional Priest one time. He said as Catholics, do we shut off those films that offend our Lord and take his name in vain? Or do we watch them anyway, or just fast forward through them.

I always think of what the Saints would say if they too were viewing these movies nowadays that contain so much fornication etc..

I figured you would want to know. Also so that no one buys the movie and supports or contributes to the awful immorality and profanities that hurt and offend Our Lord.

Thanks again for your hard work and honesty in all of your posts!
Please keep up the good work!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

