jump to navigation

Start 90 Day Special Devotion for Fatima Apparition TODAY (02/13/17) February 13, 2017

Posted by Tantumblogo in awesomeness, Basics, Domestic Church, General Catholic, Glory, Grace, Holy suffering, Interior Life, Latin Mass, mortification, Novenas, Restoration, sanctity, Tradition, true leadership, Virtue.
trackback

This special Novena was put together by Fr. Richard Heilman of the Diocese of Madison, WI.  This is a 90 day Novena running from the start of Septuagesima to May 13, the 100th anniversary of the first apparition of Our Lady of Fatima.  Fr. Heilman has set up a special website for this effort (Nineveh 90), but, unfortunately, it seems to be down right now, at least for me.  However, much of the same content has gone up on his blog.  I’ll let Father explain the purpose of this special 90 day effort of prayer and mortification, which runs through Septuagesima and Lent and on into Easter:

Nineveh 90 – the 90 days from February 13 to May 13 – is inspired by the excellent program – Exodus 90 – designed exclusively for men by Fr. Brian Doerr and others. I strongly encourage men to sign-up for Exodus 90 (sign-up HERE), and use it for our 90-day journey.

For our Nineveh 90 journey, which includes both men and women, we are embracing the great values of mortification, a support system, and the research in the behavioral sciences that says 90 days is about the time needed to change bad habits. We will also be using some of the tried and true supernatural elements. Namely, the Brown Scapular, 54 Day Rosary Novena, and the 33 Day Preparation for Marian Consecration.

THE NINEVEH 90 CHALLENGE BEGINS FEBRUARY 13

“Consecration Day” will be on May 13, the 100th Anniversary of Our Lady of Fatima.

Nineveh 90 – Ten Elements

  1. For these 90 days, resolve to let go of repetitive sin you struggle with (e.g., masturbation, over-eating, alcohol, etc.)
  2. Wear Brown Scapular (Scapular Medal allowed) – Akin to Sackcloth
  3. Daily Mass (This is more of an encouragement, as many cannot do this)
  4. Confession (at least once a month … immediately following grave sin)
  5. Support System: Create or join a “Nineveh 90 Squad” of 3-8 people. Meet 1-3 times per week (in person or online). Join together with an “Accountability Buddy.” Meet daily or, at least, 3 times a week.  [That’s……..really frequent.  I don’t have a problem with having some accountability but I think this might be a bit aggressive for busy families]
  6. Daily Prayer
    • Morning Offering
    • Angelus (6,Noon,6)
    • Rosary
    • Holy Hour (or at least 20 minutes)
    • Bedtime Prayers
  7. For 90 Days, Commit to …
    • Regular and intense exercise (this may be one of the greater challenges for many)
    • Seven hours of sleep is essential
    • No alcohol
    • No desserts & sweets
    • No eating between meals
    • No soda or sweetened drinks
    • No television or movies (news allowed)
    • Only music that lifts the soul to God
    • No televised sports (one per week allowed)
    • Limit recreational computer time (only use for personal needs and fulfillment. May be needed for Nineveh 90 too)
  8. 54 Day Rosary Novena (Basic Training in Holiness) – February 13 to April 7
  9. 33 Day Preparation for Consecration – April 10 (Monday of Holy Week) to May 12
  10. Marian Consecration – May 13, 2017. 100th Anniversary of Our Lady of Fatima

Prayer Intention for 54 Day Rosary Novena: Personal Holiness and for the Roman Catholic Church.

Sundays and Solemnities: may be a day of relaxed discipline, but not abandoned. (Sleep in an extra hour, cream in your coffee, a dessert, a beer, etc.)

Fasting: Wednesdays and Fridays (Water/Juice and bread only, if medically allowed, otherwise as is outlined by the USCCB)

Father Heilman claims 10,000!! have signed up to take part in this.  That’s some serious penance and prayer going on.  I didn’t officially sign up but plan on joining my wife in doing most all of the above.  Internet will be hard, along with the 2 days of old school fasting.  I will try one and see how it goes.  I’m soft, I know.  Actually in the past I’ve let myself do more “positive” penances – go and do a bunch of extra things, do good works, etc! – rather than “negative” ones in taking things away, though I’ve done my share of that, too, especially relative to the comfy chair Church of today.

Intentions behind this effort, apart from desperately needed personal sanctification, are the restoration of the Faith and the overcoming of the many threats which seem to be coming together in this most significant of years, 2017.  Join in these prayers and penances (many of which I know most of you already perform regularly, or would as part of Septuagesima and Lent) to offer up graces for the conversion of Church leadership and the reinstitution of sanity and piety at all levels of the Church.

I do know some may have concerns about continuing hard penances beyond Lent and into Easter.  I, too, have some trepidation over that, especially during the Octave itself, when every day is a literal continuation of the greatest, most glorious solemnity in the Church.  I think those who are troubled at the prospect of rigorous penance and self-denial during this holiest, most joyful season of the year could substitute more positive acts or switch over to more prayer and less penance.  This is perhaps something to review with your particular confessor/spiritual director as the time nears.  For now, all the activities listed above are eminently suited for Septuagesima and Lent and I highly encourage your partaking in them.

I may try to run the penance during Easter bit past Fr. Rodriguez to see what he counsels.  I’ll report back anything I learn.

 

Comments

1. lily0406 - February 13, 2017

PLEASE CLICK ON THIS ARTICLE AND READ ABOUT THIS SPECIAL VBS DEDICATED TO OUR LADY AND THE ROSARY.

http://aleteia.org/2017/02/06/tracking-mary-how-to-teach-your-children-about-the-marian-apparitions/

2. Tim - February 13, 2017

Wow……just ate a Mounds bar before reading this!

Tantumblogo - February 13, 2017

Yeah and I blew it earlier with some Youtube. OK………starting over. It’s not where I start, but where I finish.

3. Tim - February 13, 2017

I was wondering about the fasting on Easter Wednesday and Friday. Something to ask Fr. Rodriguez.

4. Camper - February 13, 2017

Catholics are ordered to party during the Octaves of Easter and Christmas! It is not optional unless you have to work to put bread on the table. Even then, you should try to limit the work you do to set aside time for feasting in the evening.

Tim - February 14, 2017

Friday in the Octave of Christmas is a day of abstinence.

Tantumblogo - February 14, 2017

In the traditional Rite, at least, every day of the Octave of Christmas, Easter, and Pentecost is treated as a Sunday. They are equivalent to the original feast, and all “rules” are applied as if it were Sunday. That’s what I’ve always been taught, anyway.

Tim - February 14, 2017

According to TRADITIONAL Catholic calendars that I have, the Friday in the Octave of Christmas is always a 2nd class feast and therefore not treated as a Sunday. The Octaves of Christmas and Pentecost have been eliminated on the modernist liturgical calendar. Pentecost Friday has always been confusing to me. It is a 1st class feast but is an Ember Day……So how do we treat it?…..as a 1st class Octave day or Ember Day with all that that entails. Friday in the Octave of Christmas is always a 2nd class feast so it is a day of abstinence.

5. Blaine - February 14, 2017

Alright someone I know is also participating in this.

I wasn’t going to, and resisted quite strongly. Then al of a sudden his first post came in my feed and there I was. I set up my Wunderlist to remind me of the several prayers throughout the day. I turned down a beer with my wife last night. I’m watching food intake. Cold shower yesterday, and went to confession to kick it off.

I really need this. I’ve gotten so soft.

DM - February 14, 2017

I really needed this too. And Tantum happened to post it on the very day I was starting to think about it. Thank you.

6. Two Prayer Requests – Local Reader Needs Help, Support Trump Against Wiccan Curse | A Blog for Dallas Area Catholics - February 23, 2017

[…] apparently there is an effort afoot by pagan witches worldwide to curse President Trump. The Nineveh 90 group sent out an e-mail to all the thousands who signed up for that effort of prayer and penance to […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

