jump to navigation

Please pray for my son June 22, 2017

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin, Domestic Church, family, Holy suffering, sadness.
trackback

My son has another MRI tomorrow.  This year of Our Lord two-thousand and seventeen has really been our annus horribilis, not just with my son’s brain tumor diagnosis but a dozen other things as well.  We’re facing myriad challenges on many fronts.  We’re having a major problem with almost every child. One is mired in persistent scruples.  Another is sinking into depression.  Others have suddenly decided to flake out academically.  And my son, even if his tumor is not growing, which I pray it is not, is having some severe behavioral problems, we think related to the anti-seizure medication, which we’ve changed, but we aren’t really sure.  And academically he’s really struggling, at least with reading.  Of course he has dyslexia which may be being caused by his tumor.  And all these are only some of the more major items.

My wife is about at her wits end.  She about came apart this morning and needs as much prayer support as my son does.

I know I don’t post much lately and maybe I’ve been testy because I am just about overwhelmed myself but I know the power of prayer and would greatly appreciate your support. We have always been incredibly blessed by Our Lord and Savior but with great blessings frequently comes heavy crosses.  This is our time to bear particular crosses.  Our Lord is desiring us to grow in our faith and in our reliance on Him, but it’s not an easy trial to experience. I – we – cannot do it alone.  So I appreciate your support more than words can say and pray for all of your daily, particularly if I am aware of a special need and generally for all the rest.

God bless you and thank you and I appreciate your patience while I am in a time in my life where sharing the Faith with others through words has to take a back seat to more pressing matters.  May God have mercy on us all in these trying times.

Comments

1. Joseph D'Hippolito - June 22, 2017

May God grant you the wisdom, grace and the strength to deal with all of this, may He provide people who will comfort and support you, and may you feel His tenderness in a unique, profound way. Amen.

2. Camper - June 22, 2017

Tantum, your wife and family come first 1000 times before the blog. Don’t feel bad for neglecting the blog.

Baseballmomof8 - June 23, 2017

Amen.

3. KS - June 22, 2017

You and your family are in my prayers. Do you homeschool? If not, try Mother of Divine Grace (Traditional Catholic Homeschool). This is what we use. God bless and hang in there.

Tantumblogo - June 22, 2017

We do homeschool. Thank you and God bless you.

4. Michele Lovell Kerby - June 22, 2017

You and I disagree on many things, but we agree completely on God’s grace and the power of prayer. I’m saying some extra ones for you and your family. May God hold you in His loving arms, and may He bring you through this much more than victoriously.

5. Tim - June 22, 2017

Be assured of our continued prayers.
God bless you and your family.

6. SO - June 22, 2017

Keeping you all in prayer –

7. KF - June 22, 2017

Dear Lord, I pray for this family to have peace, fortitude, faith and hope in your loving care. Thank you and I love you Lord.

8. Judy - June 22, 2017

Jesus–I trust in You! The blessings will come. We all will sustain you in prayer.

9. Baseballmomof8 - June 23, 2017

You and your dear family will be in my constant prayers. May the Peace of the Holy Spirit fill your precious souls.

10. lilyrose - June 23, 2017

Continued prayers.

11. Rebecca - June 23, 2017

Done!

12. MT - June 23, 2017

“With great blessings frequently come great crosses.” So true, so true. Will offer up my prayer intentions specifically for your wife.

13. FidelityJane - June 23, 2017

God bless your family and thank you for sharing this time with us. I will keep you in my prayers…

14. Leah Chapman - June 23, 2017

Your column is such a blessing to me up here in Canada, of course, my prayers are with you and your family. You are such a strong example to all of us to live in accordance with God’s law. Special prayers for your wife.
Leah

15. NickD - June 23, 2017

Praying for all of you, Tantum.

I’m sure you’ve got good connections and people to talk to and get help from in regards to your child’s depression. Still, I’ve had a brush (an extended one) with that “black dog”, so feel free to e-mail me regarding that, if you like.

16. tg - June 23, 2017

I am sorry to hear about all this happening to you and your family. I have been praying for my favorite bloggers and their families when I pray the rosary. I prayed extra prayers yesterday and today for you and your family after reading your blog. You all will continue to be in my prayers.

17. davidlane39456161dl - June 23, 2017

It would be helpful to know his Christian name/

Baseballmomof8 - June 24, 2017

Benedict

18. Magdalene - June 23, 2017

The crosses are very heavy. Will keep you all in prayers. My husband was diagnosed with cancer this year and while he may have gone into remission (next scan on Monday), his cancer is not curable. And he is a little on the disabled side. It is hard. Life changes quickly.

19. Dale Price - June 23, 2017

Prayers for all of you.

20. Liz - June 23, 2017

I will remember you and your family in my daily rosary.
I always thought my faith was so strong until last year when my husband was diagnosed with kidney cancer. I felt myself falling apart. Everyone far and wide was praying for us, and we were strengthened. We experienced the power of prayer and his surgery was successful, doctor feels all signs point to a complete cure. People you don’t even know are praying for you and your family. This blog has been a tremendous blessing for me, and so many others. I never comment but feel connected to you and all the good people who do, as a sort of spiritual family. Be assured of my prayers.

21. Tim - June 23, 2017
22. Deborah Cole - June 23, 2017

Prayers, of course.

https://www.amazon.com/Teach-Your-Child-Read-Lessons/dp/0671631985/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1498256869&sr=8-1&keywords=teach+your+child+to+read+in+100+easy+lessons

This is the one-on-one version of the program we have been using in our charter schools for twenty years. It has virtually eliminated dyslexia. We also do not teach printing, but start immediately with cursive in kindergarten. It eliminates the b/d, p/q reversals problem to which dyslexics are prone. Although there may be organic complications in your son’s case, it might be worth a try.

FYI

23. Dismas - June 23, 2017

Tantum, count on prayers from this poor sinner.

24. Brian E. Breslin - June 24, 2017

Tantum, like the others above, I got your back. You can count on me to add to the prayers of the friends above. First intention at Saturday morning Mass is for you and your family. God bless and keep you guys!

25. Margarita - June 24, 2017

Praying for your son and the rest of your family.

26. wendyminva - June 24, 2017

We’ll be praying for all of you.

27. Bill - June 24, 2017

Thank you for asking us to pray. We shall pray.

Asking for big favors at a Feast Day Mass tomorrow.

28. Gail H. - June 24, 2017

God bless you all. It sounds like you are all under a lot of pressure or weight of the cross. It’s very humble, noble, and smart of you to ask for prayers. You may have already done this, but, just in case, I’d like to suggest asking a Holy priest to bless you and your family and your home and, also, give your child/children the Sacrament of the Sick for the one/s needing it, especially your son with the brain tumor.

In addition, don’t forget your Guardian Angels are there for you all and they’re there with the doctors and nurses to help your son. Also, it really is a good thing to do and really helps, especially in times of great stress or trouble, to say/ pray out loud, (although you don’t need to shout it), throughout the day, “Praise Jesus! Thank You, Jesus!”. According to Scripture, we are to praise and thank God in ALL circumstances and even in the most difficult circumstances, God really helps us. This has greatly helped me and my family through all kinds of trying and most difficult times.
God bless you all. You are all in my daily prayers.
Gail

29. Gail H. - June 24, 2017

God bless you all. This Holy Spirit prayer has greatly helped my family and me, especially, in very trying and difficult times.
I obtained the following information and prayer from this website/webpage…
http://www.catholictradition.org/Classics/secret-sanctity.htm

“I am going to reveal to you the secret of sanctity and happiness. Every day for five minutes control your imagination and close your eyes to the things of sense and your ears to all the noises of the world, in order to enter into yourself.

Then in the sanctity of your Baptized soul, [which is the Temple of the Holy Spirit] speak to that Divine Spirit, saying to Him:

Oh, Holy Spirit, beloved of my soul. I adore Thee.
Enlighten me, guide me, strengthen me, console me.
Tell me what I should do . . . give me Thy orders.
I promise to submit myself to all that Thou desireth of me
and to accept all that Thou doth permit to happen to me.
Let me only know Thy will.

If you do this, your life will flow along happily, serenely and full of consolation, even in the midst of trials. Grace will be proportioned to the trial, giving you the strength to carry it and you will arrive at the gates of Paradise, laden with merit.”
Joseph Cardinal Mercier

Cardinal Mercier wrote this prayer many years ago, however, since I need all of the help that I can get, I add a little bit more to the prayer, asking God to, please, give me the graces to help do His Will…and I thank God for His goodness.
This prayer seems to especially help me when I am tense, worked up, or worried. The Holy Spirit is the Great Comforter. God bless you all.

30. Gary - June 24, 2017

Our heart felt prayer are with your family🙏⛪️

31. Aussietomt - June 24, 2017

Some fourths that I love to pray.
The fourth Sorrowful Mystery…The Carrying of the Cross
The fourth Sorrow of The Blessed Virgin…The Way to Calvary
The fourth Station of The Cross…Jesus meets his Holy Mother
and of course The Stabat Mater.
So much for us to share with Jesus and His Mother.
Mother of Perpetual Help..Pray for Us.

Our prayers are with you in petition and thanksgiving for all you have
provided for us, your are an inspiration.

32. Aussietomt - June 24, 2017

Just an add to….Since a very young age I have knelt immediately beside the Fourth Station ( say 65 years, although I am a little older). Our Cathedral has a wonderful image which I imagine is also in many Churches throughout the world. So realistic of the suffering of Jesus and His Mother it really helps me in my prayers to know I am able to look and feel the sacrifices offered for us all.

33. Jennifer Rundlett - June 24, 2017

Prayers

34. geneticallycatholic - June 26, 2017

I will add your family in my daily prayers. God bless your family, and may Our Lady cover you. And your family with her mantle of protection.

35. damselofthefaith - June 27, 2017

Prayers for you all, Tantum!

36. LaGallina - June 28, 2017

Im sorry I hadn’t seen this this! I haven’t read the blog all week. I won’t let up on my prayers for your family!

37. Don - June 29, 2017

Prayers for the entire family.

The other children are reacting, or acting out, to their brother’s illness, and the devil knows that. Have your home re-blessed! Light blessed candles, have blessed salt and holy water at hand.

Don


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

