jump to navigation

Update Post July 10, 2017

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin, awesomeness, Basics, Domestic Church, Father Rodriguez, fun, General Catholic, Grace, priests, Tradition, true leadership, Virtue.
trackback

Lots of people have been asking me for an update offline and on regarding my family.  Things are OK, my son had a follow-up MRI over 2 weeks ago but we still haven’t gotten the results yet.  Partly because my wife took a much needed week off from house and (most) kids, and partly because of scheduling problems with the doctor.  But we have no reason to suspect any change in his tumor status.

It’s just continuing to be a very trying time.  If it’s not one kid it’s another of late.  But we’re hanging in there.

We did have a blessed event July 4, Father Michael Rodriguez came to our house and met my wife and kids for the first time.  He also blessed Benedict, which was very much appreciated.  It was wonderful to spend a couple of hours visiting with Father.  He has a special message he wants me to convey to whatever readers are left after so many long absences on my part of late (yes, both of you), and I pray I get to that tomorrow.  Much of that message will be familiar, but it does contain a proposal I think is as novel as it is important, and has great potential to strengthen the Faith during these times of unprecedented insanity among those charged with care of souls at all levels of the Church.


We are carrying on all right though very busy.  I made a trip to the farm over the past 2+ weeks since I posted, as I said my wife was out, there was a holiday weekend, we have another priest coming over tonight……there’s always something.  One more brief post today, God willing and hopefully I will have more time tomorrow, as well.  Also my work situation will, I pray, really start to calm down within the next month or so.  It’s been nuts all year since early February when I got handed a great stinking pile of manure and was told to turn it into a golden swan by year’s end.  Maybe it’s not quite golden yet but hopefully closer to an aluminum falcon than the dead duck I was given charge over.  At least it’s functional. Making the ill-conceived plans and poorly executed product I was handed into something decently functional is probably one of the biggest accomplishments of my career, and the whole thing was utterly alien from my past experience.  My performance review next year better read like a Roman triumph.

But enough of that. Pray for us, God willing I can post some more substantive things tomorrow.

Comments

1. geneticallycatholic - July 10, 2017

Thank you for the update. Your family is in my daily rosary. …May the Holy Family look after you and yours.

God bless

Tantumblogo - July 10, 2017

Thank you!

2. Baseballmomof8 - July 10, 2017

So grateful for the update. Prayers, Masses, Rosary have included you and your beautiful family every day. So happy to hear your wife took a break. How many times did Our Lord Himself “go off by Himself” to pray and be alone with the Father? We all need a break – very important.
Sounds like you are giving value to your employer- a very good thing indeed 😀👍🏻
Hang in there TB… “This Too Shall Pass” 😉

3. June St. James-Pfouts - July 10, 2017

You have been much on my mind of late, “Tantumblogo,” and your family, especially your little son, Benedict. Earlier this morning all of you were very much in my thoughts, especially Benedict, and amazingly, there you are. Surely, your own prayers brought Father Rodriguez to your home, one of Our Blessed Lord’s unfathomable and wondrous “surprises.” To have such a holy pries bless your ailing son, and your family…I can only imagine you grateful heart.

Both your sharing this and the photos brought joy even to me, far away and only via email.

Work and your new job (not quite so new any longer) sounds like all is coming together; your faithfulness, efforts and perseverance now reaping rewards, not only for you, but for all concerned and o the benefit of the company you work for. That sense of accomplishment, actually seeing positive results from all your efforts, has to be satisfying. (over and above relief).

Your family continues o be an inspiration o us.

My prayers for your family, your son, continue in many forms.

Christ’s Peace, His continued blessings,
June

4. Dismas - July 10, 2017

You one bad-lookin’ Dude, Man. But you have a nice family. I’m happy that the good Fr. Rodriguez could make your acquaintance.

5. Tim - July 10, 2017

Welcome back! Everyone needs a break….good for the mental health. Your family is in my prayers. God bless.

6. Barbara Hvilivitzky - July 11, 2017

God Bless you and your family. What a wonderful picture – it is very good to put faces to names – you will be added to my Rosary list.

7. Blaine - July 11, 2017

Well I’m one of the two for sure. Thanks for the update. By the way, the pic of your family is awesome, and wow on the visitor. What a blessing!

8. Father Michael Rodriguez’ Novel Suggestion for Unity Among Traditional Catholics           | A Blog for Dallas Area Catholics - July 11, 2017

[…] As I posted yesterday, I had a wonderful opportunity to spend some time with Father Michael Rodriguez of El Paso on the 4th of July.  Much of the discussion centered around the views Father and I share regarding the different groups within the larger community of traditional Catholicism.  I’ve posted on this subject numerous times before, but I will briefly restate them: most traditional Catholics have a particular group, be it the SSPX, FSSP, ICK, IBP, etc., within which they feel the most comfort and towards which the most affinity.  I have no problem with that.  Certainly there are advantages and disadvantages to each group, and especially between the SSPX and the Ecclesia Dei communities.  All of this is fine and can certainly be discussed within proper limits of prudence and charity. […]

9. Aussietomt - July 12, 2017

Great to be able to read your comments again. You have been missed and our prayers continue.
But, I gotta ask….who owns the rockin’ chair.
Takes me back to the old Eddie Arnold hit :”Rockin’ alone in my old rockin’ chair.
So …thanks for the memory as well.

10. Numbskull - July 12, 2017

Wow, with a mug like that, you’re one lucky man to have such a handsome family. Numbskull supposes there was supernatural assistance involved.

Camper - July 15, 2017

Um, excuse me, but is this a horrible thing to say, or is it just me?

11. tg - July 15, 2017

Thanks for the update. I will keep you and your family in my prayers. I hope your daughter is better too. Sometimes mental issues are harder to deal with than physical ones.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

