jump to navigation

Great News on My Son July 13, 2017

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin.
comments closed

Thank you all so much for your continuing prayers.  The results of his latest MRI were very positive, the tumor/abnormality is stable and the neurosurgeon does not need to see my son for another year!   And we got this news on my boy’s 8th birthday.  We are of course extremely pleased.  We continue to pray he may be entirely healed of this malady without any further medical intervention.

He continues to battle stubborn dyslexia that may be directly caused by this tumor.  We’ve just engaged in a major program to assist with this.  I pray he is able to read with less difficulty.

We have also seen some positive developments in other areas, so your prayers really do help.  Please continue them, this is a long road and while the news regarding my son has been all good since the initial onset of near-fatal seizures, we will, in the best case, probably be dealing with this for years.  But I cannot thank all of those who have prayed for Benedict enough.  I know it is the prayers, and God’s Grace, which is making all the difference right now.  I shall always remember you in my prayers.

I also feel Father’s blessing of Benedict also played a role.  I have so very much to be thankful for.  My words to do not adequately express what I feel.  The outpouring of support for us has been amazing.  My wife and I are so very grateful for all the aid, spiritual and material, we have received.

God bless all of you.

Archbishop Lefebvre in a White Cassock July 13, 2017

Posted by Tantumblogo in Basics, catachesis, episcopate, General Catholic, history, Latin Mass, priests, Tradition, true leadership.
comments closed

I posted a picture of a local priest in a white cassock, and some people had some questions about it.  I used to have the same questions.  In brief, the Church has long permitted those priests – and bishops, too – in tropical climates to wear white cassocks more acclimated to the torrid conditions.  The Fraternity of St. Peter gave permission to the priests here in Dallas to wear white cassocks in the summer months, generally June, July, and August.  They aren’t worn terribly often, but you seem them occasionally.  I think they look really smart.

At any rate, as a testimony to this long practice, here is Archbishop Lefebvre in a white cassock when he was a priest of the Holy Ghost Fathers in Africa:

Another, as a bishop:

As I said, the use extends to bishops and cardinals

You will frequently see African bishops wearing white cassocks.  In the US it’s much more rare but as I said permission can be sought and obtained in certain locales.

This rather piddling post is all I have time for today.