jump to navigation

Errors of “Big Bang” Cosmology and Other Good Sermons September 13, 2017

Posted by Tantumblogo in awesomeness, Basics, catachesis, Christendom, General Catholic, Glory, Grace, Interior Life, Latin Mass, priests, sanctity, the struggle for the Church, Tradition, true leadership, Virtue.
trackback

I posted a link to the first sermon below – back when Audio Sancto was a going concern – back in 2013.  It’s been on Youtube for some time, but the timing felt right again to bring up this subject, what with all the comments received in the post I did on evolution being at the foundation of the collapse of Christianity in the 20th century.

The priest giving the sermon is a trained scientist, in the field of biology.  I am not a scientist, but as I said in the previous post on evolution, I have been steeped in the scientific indoctrination establishment throughout my education and professional career, and I have worked as a practicing engineer for nearly 25 years now.  I am not scientifically illiterate.  Neither is Father in the sermon.

This priest has given numerous sermons against the errors of modern science, cosmology, and evolution in particular.  I feel the one below is the best, but here are links to several of his other sermons on this subject (Link 1, Link 2, Link 3, Link 4).  Thanks to Steve Cunningham for putting all these truly edifying videos up.  Some of the visuals are outstanding.

Appeals to authority may constitute logical fallacies, but I can state that, from my personal experience that, with the possible exception of Father Michael Rodriguez, the priest in this video is probably the best teacher and most convincing catechist I’ve ever been blessed to learn from.

I don’t want to beat this subject to death, and I have other videos I’d like to present as well, but I think this is as good a sermon on the subject of modern cosmology as I’ve ever heard.  At the very least, it presents serious challenges and asks penetrating questions. In terms of the other videos linked above, this one is probably most worth your time.  It notes the truth, which is that evolution was deliberately construed not as simply a scientific theorem, but as a thoroughgoing philosophy which undergirds a competing and inveterately hostile religion, that of materialist rationalism or, as I call it, sexular paganism.

The comments are interesting.  There are some substantial (if very brief) criticisms of Father’s arguments.  But mostly there are ad hominem attacks against religion in particular and metaphysics in general.  Stupid Greeks, didn’t they know  they were just wasting their time thinking about truth, when the material is all there is?  One thing these proselytes of modern science either do not know, or refuse to admit, is that when they laud “science” for only considering the material, they fail to acknowledge that it wasn’t always thus, and that it required both the sundering of Christendom through the protestant revolution, and the subsequent ascendancy of rationalism, to create a new scientific philosophy that, as a matter of deliberate choice, not evidence or reason, excluded the non-material.  You can think Descartes and Bacon, largely, for that, and they were not wholly dispassionate in their motives.

Hopefully less controversially, another excellent sermon from a very good priest, one I which I knew better, on the grand matter of humility.  There is nothing really ground-breaking in the sermon, but good, solid catechesis on an absolutely vital virtue that is so little understood and practiced in our time.  This priest is associated with an apostolate I think is so key, which is the re-evangelization of Latin America to authentic Catholicism through the spread of the Traditional Mass.  Please consider supporting this apostolate.

This final sermon is actually from the great Moral Doctor Saint Alphonsus Ligouri.  It’s read by someone, I know not whether they are a priest or no.  In this sermon, St. Alphonsus expostulates on the fact that, for each one of us, there are only a certain number of sins each person is allotted before God forgives no more of them. He bases his sermon on Scripture, the Fathers of the Church and common sense. A most powerful sermon and on a topic that many either do not know or are reluctant to countenance.  I believe I have blogged excerpts from others of St. Alphonsus’ voluminous writings on this subject, but darned if I can find them now.  This might be the most important of all the sermons listed in this post:

 

Comments

1. Baseballmom - September 13, 2017

The sermon of St. Alphonsus seared my soul.

Baseballmom - September 14, 2017

Loved he sermon on Humility as well. Yes, humility is embracing Truth. Pride is denial of Truth.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

