jump to navigation

A Brief Update on My Son February 21, 2017

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin, Domestic Church, family, thanksgiving.
trackback

Sorry I’ve been away from the blog the past few days, it’s mostly been work that’s prevented me from getting.  We did have some follow up on my son’s health situation.  The tumor board, which is a panel of 20 or so experts convened whenever a new tumor is diagnosed at Children’s Hospital in Dallas, met and reached the same conclusion the pediatric neurosurgery physicians had reached – they believe it is a “low grade” tumor that is probably not fast growing and may have been around for some time. He will receive further testing to establish a baseline and have a very intensive MRI done in a month to see if the tumor has changed at all.  If not, he’ll have another MRI every three months to continue to monitor its status.

So, provided he doesn’t have any problems develop that indicate the tumor is affecting him in negative ways, he’ll just continue on anti-seizure meds and be closely watched.  The doctor did indicate that ultimately, he’ll probably require surgery to remove the tumor. It’s not a certainty but it’s the greatest probability.  The hope is to put that off as far as possible.  Because of the location of the tumor, it’s very likely he would suffer vision loss of one degree or another if or when surgery becomes necessary.  So while his incredible recovery has been amazing and a blessing beyond description, this is not something he’s “gotten over.”  He has a very serious condition and it will require close observation for years to come.

Thank you again for all of your prayers.  Please keep my good boy in your prayers for the foreseeable future.  It is my fervent hope that through the many prayers being offered up Benedict may never have to have surgery and the tumor may simply be cured through God’s benevolence.  I have been overwhelmed by the outpouring of spiritual support for my son – literally hundreds of people are praying for him.  I shall have Masses offered for your intentions and in thanksgiving for your generosity.

Unless something unexpected occurs, this will probably be the last update for some time.  That is my hope, at least.

Comments

1. Daze Inde - February 21, 2017

We pray the tumor will shrink, and that his sight will be preserved, with or without surgery. Fr. Solanus, please intercede for this little boy.

2. Margaret Costello - February 22, 2017

Will put your sweet boy on my prayer list…and I agree…a prayer for a miracle cure would be the best case scenario:+) Thanks for the update:+) God bless~

3. Mrs. Maureen Avila - February 22, 2017

I am praying to Pope St. John Paul II for your son.

4. Brian E. Breslin - February 22, 2017

St. Guiseppe Moscati, please pray for young Benedict.

Tantumblogo - February 22, 2017

That’s a really good one! One of my favorites!

5. Baseballmomof8 - February 22, 2017

Prayers continue for sweet Benedict 🙂

6. LaGallina - February 22, 2017

I will continue to pray for little Benedict.

Tantumblogo - February 24, 2017

Thanks, so much.

I’m supposed to go to our Reynosa factory soon but will be staying in McAllen. It would be cool to meet you if you have time.

See if you like this. By the same guy who did the Picard video:

7. FidelityJane - February 22, 2017

I am keeping sweet Benedict in my daily rosary.

8. MFG - February 22, 2017

Will continue to pray.

Tantumblogo - February 23, 2017

Thank you!


Sorry comments are closed for this entry