jump to navigation

Prayer to Pope St. Pius X for these difficult times April 28, 2014

Posted by Tantumblogo in awesomeness, Basics, General Catholic, Glory, Grace, Interior Life, Latin Mass, manhood, Papa, scandals, secularism, Society, Tradition, Virtue.
comments closed

From one of my favorite bloggers, Boniface at Unam Sanctam Catholicam, a post with this prayer for the intercession of Pope St. Pius X, previously the last canonized pope, now one of three 20th century popes canonized, with Paul VI’s coming soon to a Church near you:KARDIN~1

O glorious St. Pius X, hammer of modernists, humble shepherd of souls and pastor of the universal Church, last sainted pope, pray for us and for the Holy Catholic Church in this dire hour.

Pray to the Lord for us, poor sinners, who have not fully appreciated your teachings and have rejected your counsels. We have seen your vision of where we are and where we are going and have shrunk back, preferring compromise with the world to the robust combat with the forces of evil that our Lord calls us to.

Intercede for your Church, that her pastors and princes will come to a profound realization of the truths enunciated in your great teachings Pascendi, Lamentabili Sane and the Oath Against Modernism. Pray that we will all see Modernism for what it is and understand what chaos it has already wrought in the Church and world.

Through your glorious intercession, may God, in His mercy, avert His wrath from us and instead turn and heal us. Let our hearts be turned that we can repent; let our minds be flooded with light that we may reject the errors of our age. May God in His mercy say that our exile is at an end, that our cup has been drunk to the dregs, that debt has been paid in full.

May we again value truth above all else, and reject the imprudent and false dichotomy that seeks to erode truth at the expense of a false tolerance. May our liturgies be ceremonies of reverent and humble of our Creator, our theology grounded in sound principles following the path laid out by the great St. Thomas. May our witness be bold and sure, our charity be fervent, and may souls flood into the Church.

May our leaders in the Church and State be deeply moved by the vision you set for the Church, and may God, in His great mercy, lead us towards a true repentance and restoration of the Catholic Church.

St. Pius X, last sainted pope, pray for us! May God have mercy on us.

———-End Quote———

I don’t know if Boniface composed that prayer, but I found it very moving.  It’s a serious prayer for a serious time.

We live in an age where relativism runs rampant, even (or especially) within the Church.  Truth is no longer set in stone as being a characteristic of the Second Person of the Holy Trinity, it is now something that depends on time, place, and event.  It is not Truth, then, but falsehood, devastatingly masquerading as truth.

I think many of us feel that the process of these recent canonizations was overtly politicized.  I am far from the only one to note that the timing of these canonizations, occurring during this extended 50 year anniversary from the Council and prior to the upcoming, and seemingly critical, Synod, seems politically motivated.  Many fear it is not just a sort of unbiased, “isn’t it nice we had this council” mentality that is being pushed here. It is a very specific understanding of the Council, a very progressive vision, one that is exceedingly difficult to reconcile with the Church’s Tradition.

So now is perhaps one of the most pivotal moments in history to be praying for the intercession of a Saint like Pope Pius X.  He understood the deadly threat that modernism/relativism poses. He understood that the Church is most vulnerable to attacks from within.  And he understood that decoupling belief and practice from Truth has always been, and always shall be, devastating to souls.

So please consider offering this prayer. We have desperate need of the intercession of great Saints right now.

Pope-Pius-X-Dead-1914_08_20

“Walking miracle” of sister healed by intercession of Saint John XXIII April 28, 2014

Posted by Tantumblogo in awesomeness, Basics, episcopate, General Catholic, Glory, Grace, Saints, sanctity, Tradition, Virtue.
comments closed

The Transalpine Redemptorist’s blog has a post that tells the story of Sister Caterina Capitani, who as a young novice was afflicted with a terrible digestive disorder, suffered for many years, and was then written off more or less for dead.  She had been advised to pray for the intercession of Pope John XXIII, but she had a huge devotion to Our Lady and did not really engage the deceased pope on her behalf.  However, her religious sisters did so, and finally the nun relented.  Before long, she had a miraculous dream in which the John XXIII informed her she was healed.  Even though she had been at death’s door, it turned out he was right.  She was completely healed, and more incredibly, could eat whatever she wanted in large amounts, even though she had undergone surgery to remove most of her stomach and her pancreas.

You can it all at the link, but I excerpt portions below, and include a video the Redemptorists produced regarding this miracle:

In 1962 a young novice, Sister Caterina started having problems with her health several months after having been clothed in the habit. She was 18 years of age. She began to feel a constant intercostal pain between her Bl John XXIIII 1stomach and heart. Until that time her health had been very good, so she ignored the pain. She thought perhaps she had knocked against a piece of furniture or something. The pain continued for a couple of months, and one night she had a hemorrage that frightened her. She was in her room. She felt like vomiting, ran to the sink and found her mouth full of very red blood. Since they had taught her during nursing school that very red blood came from the chest area, she thought she had contracted consumption; with a sickness like that, her life in the convent was finished…….

…..After a long examination and minute analysis of all the medical reports of his colleagues, Professor Zannini began a new cure that lasted five months. But the situation never changed, so the Professor decided to operate.

She was hospitalized and underwent an operation which lasted for five hours. The inside of her stomach was completely covered with a strange and rare form of ulcerous tumours, caused, perhaps, by the improper functioning of the pancreas and spleen. The Professor was obliged to remove her stomach, except for a small piece the size of a prune. He also removed the pancreas and spleen. The esophagus was connected directly to the intestine. It was also necessary to cut the aorta making a deviation of the blood circulation. It was a delicate operation and the probabilities for the patient to come out of the operating room alive were quite slim.

thCAX0Z7I2Before the operation, Sister Caterina tells us, I had prayed to the Holy Virgin of Pompei, to whom I am very devout. The day after the operation, while I was thanking the Virgin for having come through the operation safely, a Sister from our Congregation told me: “It was Pope John XXIII who saved you. I had placed his image on the bed of the operating room and had continued to pray throughout the operation.” She gave me the Pope’s image and told me to place myself under his protection. I admired John XXIII very much, but had never thought of praying to him. I answered: “Thank you for what you have done for me, but I am convinced that it was the Holy Virgin of Pompei who protected me, and I will continue to pray to her. ” I placed the image of Pope John on the nightstand, as if it served no purpose for me.

In the days following the surgery, Sister Caterina’s health, instead of improving, continued to worsen. During the first night, the nun had a collapse; after several days, she had an intestinal block. Professor Zannini was very worried, and thought that another operation was necessary. The sisters continued to pray to Pope John and Sister Caterina to the Holy Virgin of Pompei. Nine days after the operation, the nun’s condition suddenly improved.

“Three days later, while I was sipping some liquid, I became cyanotic and lost consciousness.” The doctors hurried to provide her with oxygen. “They examined me and found I had pleurisy. I was depressed. You have to pray to Pope John my sisters repeated to me. I was convinced and began to pray to the good Pope. Ten days later I was able to leave the clinic.”

The improvement was once again short-lived. Two weeks later, Sister Caterina started to vomit great quantities of gastric fluids. They were so acid that they burnt her skin and the lower part of her face was completely sore. Bl John XXIII 22Since she couldn’t hold anything down in her stomach, she was nourished through phleboclysis. Professor Zannini was still very worried. He decided to send her home, to Potenza. Perhaps the air of her home town would help her. But two months later Sister Caterina returned to Naples, in worse condition than when she had left. She looked as if she were already dead.

“On 14 May 1966, following a serious crisis of vomiting, I felt my abdomen and it was completely wet,” recounts the religious. “I called a sister to have her look at it: gastric fluids, blood and that little amount of orange juice I had just drunk were flowing out of a hole that had opened on my abdomen. A doctor was called. He said there was a perforation, which had caused an external fistula. There was diffused peritonitis. My fever was very high. The situation was desperate. Professor Zannini was informed, and he had me hospitalized immediately. He ordered some medicines and decided to wait to see how the crisis would devolop, because surgical intervention under those conditions was unthinkable”.

“We Daughters of Charity pronounce our vows five years after having donned the habit. The rule provides for exceptions, however, when a young sister is about to die. This was my case. So on the 19th of May, 1966, I pronounced my vows, and I was immediately administered the Extreme Unction.Bl John XXIII 4

On the 22nd of May a sister brought me a relic of Pope John’s from Rome: a piece of the sheet upon which the Pope had died. I placed it on the perforation which had opened on my stomach, and since I was suffering quite a bit, I prayed to the Pope to take me to Heaven. I was slowly dying. I felt that my strength was leaving me. The temperature was very high. A sister guarded the room day and night.

“On 25 May, at around 2.30 in the afternoon, I asked a sister who was guarding the room to close the window a little because the light bothered me. She did so, and then left the room for a few minutes.

“I drifted off to sleep. At a certain point I felt a hand pressing the wound on my stomach and the voice of a man saying: “Sister Caterina, Sister Caterina!” I thought it was Professor Zannini, who came to check on me occasionally. I turned towards the voice, and saw Pope John standing beside my bed: he had the same smile as the image that had been given me. He was the one who was holding his hand on my wound. “You prayed to me very much,”he said with a calm voice. “Many people have prayed to me, but especially one. You have really taken this miracle from my heart. But don’t be afraid now, you are healed. Ring the bell, call the sisters who are in the chapel, have them take your temperature and you will see that you will not have even the slightest temperature. Eat whatever you want, as you did before the sickness: I will hold my hand on your wound, and you will be healed. Go to the Professor, have him examine you, have some x-rays done and have it all written down, because these things will be needed someday.”

“The vision disappeared, and only then did I begin to realize what had happened. I wondered whether it had been a dream. I was trembling from the emotion and fear. I felt well. I felt no pain, but I didn’t dare call the Pope John XXIII 13sisters: they would have thought I was crazy. After several minutes, I had to decide. I did what the Pope had told me to: I rang the bell…….

….“They took my temperature: 36.8 C°. ‘Do you see?’, I said, challenging them. ‘Now give me something to eat because I’m hungry’. I hadn’t been able to hold anything down in my stomach for many months. Mother Superior, who was almost hypnotized by my state of excitement, ordered the sisters to do as I asked. A sister brought me some semolina, which I ate voraciously, to the astonishment of my sisters. Then they brought me an ice cream, and I ate that too. ‘I’m still hungry’, I said. The sister brought me some meatballs, and I ate those, followed by some soup, and I devoured that as well.

At this point, the Mother Superior, who was still not convinced of what was happening, said: ‘Now we have to change you’, thinking that everything I had eaten had gone out of the fistula that had opened on my stomach, which is what always happened. They lay me down on the bed. A nurse brought gauze and a clean nightgown. They uncovered me. The nurse shouted: ‘But there’s nothing here’. The sisters fell on their knees, crying from emotion. Until a few minutes earlier the skin on my stomach had been one big wound: the gastric fluids that continually flowed out of the fistula had corroded the skin. The wound had completely disappeared. There was no sign of the fistula, not a trace: the skin was smooth, clean and white. So I told them what had happened.

Sister Caterina was cured on 25 May 1966.
From that day she lived a busy working life as a nurse in a hospital of over 300 beds and as a religious sister. Her day was usually from 5.30 a.m. until midnight or sometimes 1.00 a.m.
Sister died during the night of 31 March, 2010.
SORRY, VIDEO FIXED
————-End Quote—————
So now you know the story of the one approved miracle related to Pope Saint John XXIII.  The requirement for other miracles was waved by Pope Francis.
It’s quite an engaging story!  I enjoyed hearing it yesterday, and sharing it with you today.
We should remember, it was miracles that attested to the Divinity of Christ. It was miracles that gave the Apostles and early Fathers their power to win over myriad souls. Mind you, the people of high antiquity were hardly the easily wowed rubes they are presented as today.  Many were educated to levels beyond most people today, and the average level of critical thought was probably at least as high, if not higher, today.  There wasn’t much Jerry Springer or Katie Perry going on to while away the day.
The sanctity of the Church and Her claims has always been attested to by miracles.   Miracles are required to be a Saint.  And this story above certainly bears all the hallmarks of a miracle.  The Church certainly found this healing to be miraculous.  And so now we have another Saint.
john xxiii consecration in rome

I need your help: traditional women’s religious orders April 28, 2014

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin, awesomeness, Basics, General Catholic, Glory, Grace, Interior Life, Latin Mass, religious, Tradition, Virtue.
comments closed

I know I have a great group of bright, well-informed readers, so I figured you could help me out. I know a young lady who feels a strong call to a vocation in religious life, and who is profoundly attached to the Traditional Mass 461893106and traditional practice of the Faith.  She has had some experience with the Carmelites in Valparaiso and that did not work out.  So now she is looking for other traditional religious orders in fully regular canonical situations.

I only know of a few other really traditional orders for women:

Benedictines of Mary, Queen of the Apostles

Slaves of the Immaculate Heart of Mary

Benedictine Sisters of Clear Creek

Brigittini Servitores Sanctissimi Salvatoris: this consists of just one elderly woman, I believe

Traditional Redemptoristines

Sister Adorers of the Royal Heart of Jesus

Carmel of Santa Fe: Can someone confirm, fully canonically regular?Benedictines of Mary, Queen of Apostles 4

That’s about all I can think of or find that are clearly traditional.  There are others that are traditional leaning or pretty far along the path towards embracing the traditional practice of the Faith.

Among these, the most notable to me and probably the most thoroughly traditional are the Franciscans of the Immaculate.  They are not under any investigation or process!  That’s only the Friars, thank God.  Fr. Wolfe says this is just a rock solid order.  They are in New Bedford, Mass.

Norbertines of Southern California

Poor Clare Monastery of Our Lady of Guadalupe

Not sure how traditional these two are. I’d say orthodox, trending traditional.

Beyond that, I’m pretty stumped. Can you help this young woman out?  I think she reads pretty regularly.  There simply aren’t nearly so many traditional religious orders for women as their are for men.  We all know how vital religious life, especially nuns, are to the Church!  So help this desert bloom again with your suggestions!  Maybe other young ladies will read this blog and get help finding traditional religious orders!

Would you please, in your charity, say a prayer that this young lady find her calling from God?

Deo Gratias!

PS – There are many fine, faithful orders of nuns around that are not traditional, including our local Carmelites who have supported our TLM community so well and whom I adore. I do not mean to slight them, I am simply trying to assist this young lady in finding good traditional religious orders.

831acf538213455fd7d2067308224cef

 

 

So the Church has two new Saints April 28, 2014

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin, awesomeness, Basics, episcopate, error, General Catholic, Glory, Papa, Saints, sanctity, scandals, Spiritual Warfare, SSPX, Tradition, Virtue.
comments closed

So it came to pass that there was no earthquake, pandemic, flood, or sudden death to interrupt the process of canonization for Pope Saint John XXIII and Pope Saint John Paul II.  Probably most Catholics, notional or faithful, are pleased at this development.  As for me, while I still have many qualms regarding the process and the prudence, I give full assent of divine faith to the fact that these two men are in Heaven. Roma locuta est, causa finita est.  As for their possession of heroic virtue, worthy of emulation, they certainly had aspects of such, but are not without fault.

But neither are any of us without fault.

A commenter I have gotten to know a bit offline and whom I have warm feelings towards asked whether the process is no so deficient that it would be an act of injustice to no longer pray for the repose of the soul of either of these men.  This asks a very fundamental question, for if the Church can no longer assure even if various souls are in Heaven, She has fallen so far I don’t know how we could trust Her judgment in any regard, especially doctrinal.

For me, it comes down to faith.  Faith in the Church.  Is the Church still the Church, in spite of all the problems?  For me, yes, it certainly is.  And I think questioning whether the Church can even ascertain whether a soul is in Pope_John_Paul_II_and_the_EucharistHeaven could lead to very dangerous places.

I fully understand that the process of canonization has been changed much for the worst in the past few decades.  Requirements for miracles have been reduced or often just thrown out, we see enormous mass groups canonized (nearly 900 souls at once!) which seems very strange, at least, and of course the position of the devil’s advocate was eliminated by one of the men just canonized.  There are also many political factors at play. I get all this, and my knowledge of all of the above weighs on my mind when I consider the prudence and timing of not just these most recent canonizations, but others as well.

But I still come back to the basic point: is the Church still the Church, or not?  If the Church via the Pope errs in proclaiming a soul or souls to be in Heaven, on what can She be right?  To me, to question the validity of these or any other canonization is to be heading almost in a sede vacantist territory, where the Church is no longer the Church, the Pope no longer the Pope.  This is such a fundamental matter I simply cannot accept that there could be an error in one of these declaration.

I would also say that I get the idea that one does not want to be uncharitable or unjust by not failing to pray for souls who need prayers.  That redounds to the credit of those so concerned. But it is not up for debate at this point.  The Church, warts and all, has spoken.

A priest I know and respect a great deal discussed this over the weekend.  He quoted from several Fathers and Doctors of the Church.  Canonizations are the most frequent exercise of the ordinary universal Magisterium in making infallible claims.  We have to accept that these men are in Heaven as a matter of faith.  Problems with the Pope John XXIII 13process cannot affect the validity of these declarations.  And it is at least an indirect mortal sin against the supernatural virtue of Faith to deny their validity.  He quoted St. Robert Bellarmine directly on this point.

I think the priest made some very strong points, but I would have accepted these canonizations without hearing them.  I am not a theologian, so I don’t know the degree to which some of these points might be arguable, if any.  But it did sound quite convincing to me.

There is great confusion as to whether a canonization is a declaration simply that a given soul is in Heaven, or whether it also speaks infallibly about the entire conduct of the life of the soul in question.  The official Actas of the Holy See in such matters only address the fact that the soul is in Heaven.  Now we know that only virtuous souls can enter Heaven.  God decides who possesses sufficient virtue to enter Heaven at each particular judgment, and we believe that the Pope as the Vicar of Christ  – in spite of all shortcomings – is possessed of a charism to infallibly inform us that a soul is in Heaven through formal canonization.  Infallibility protects only negatively, against error, so that a positive declaration that a soul is in Heaven is an infallible statement.

Whether there were grave problems in a person’s life at various points, or in the conduct of whatever office was entrusted to them, are simply beside the point.  The soul is in Heaven, period.  There was obviously enough virtue there to merit salvation, in spite of all evidence to the contrary.

Where problems do come in for faithful souls is when folks try to use, for less than virtuous ends, the fact that a 111_JPII_Shaman01given person is a Saint to advance less than perfectly desirable aspects of their lives as something virtuous and good for the entire Church.  This is a way of seeking to canonize the entire life and vocation of a given soul, even if some of that life actually weighed against salvation or is otherwise deleterious to the Faith.  What I am trying to say is, just because John Paul II is confirmed to be in Heaven, infallibly, that does not mean his kissing the Koran or invoking St. John the Baptist to protect islam were acts worthy of veneration/emulation.  That there are people in the Church who will almost certainly try to claim such, is one reason why I opposed the rush to canonization before it was completed.

But now that it is, I accept, wholly and unreservedly, that John XXIII and John Paul II are Saints in Heaven.  I will ask their intercession.  But I still have reservations with the process and feel the timing was imprudent, for reasons discussed previously. One can accept a Saint is in Heaven, while believing that the timing of the canonization was not desirable or that there are aspects of the Saint’s life that are bothersome and perhaps should have been more strongly considered in the process – and still remain a fully faithful Catholic.  But as to whether they are in Heaven, that has been formally declared: they are.

A couple final notes: John Paul II may have flown to Heaven the moment his soul left his body, or he may have spent all the intervening period in Purgatory.  One does not have to be a canonized Saint to be in Heaven.  Canonization merely assures us that a given soul is, indeed, a Saint.  But there are hopefully millions more Saints in Heaven than have been formally declared to be such.

Finally, is it hard to be a Saint?  Yes and no.  Actually knowing what we must do to be a Saint is not hard, but actually doing it: that can be pretty hard, depending on the kind of life we’ve led.  The video below gives some pretty good instruction on what we must do to be saints.  I pray you find it useful:

Oh, one more thing.  This really is a glorious thing, all politics and talk of crisis and problems with process aside.  Two more souls are in Heaven, worshiping God forever and ensconced in the Beatific Vision forever!  That is so wonderful!  It is a miracle anytime a soul is there!

I really have something to offer up today…… April 28, 2014

Posted by Tantumblogo in Admin.
comments closed

……I’m doing my annual self-appraisal in our performance review process. We have a new process this year and this thing has about 40 fields to fill out.

So, it’s a good mortification for me. I’m trying not to lose merit by losing peace, when I am asked for the 11th time to demonstrate what a team player I was, my communication skills, and technical knowledge.

oops.