jump to navigation

Michael Voris takes on Bishop Robert Lynch November 14, 2013

Posted by Tantumblogo in asshatery, Basics, disaster, error, foolishness, General Catholic, horror, Papa, persecution, scandals, secularism, self-serving, sexual depravity, shocking, Voris.
Tags:
trackback

I don’t think it unfair to say that Bishop Robert Lynch of St. Petersburg, FL, is one of the more openly liberal bishops in the country.  He has previously attacked pro-lifers as hypocritical and savaged any who would dare to point out the grave scandals ongoing at Catholic Relief Services, Catholic Charities, and CCHD.  I did a post on Bishop Lynch and his progressive antics 3 months ago.  Now Michael Voris is reporting on still more scandals, including some which I did not know before, regarding payoffs to dismiss sexual harassment suits made by men, and allegations of a possible ongoing relationship with a contractor who has gotten fat contracts from the Diocese:

“reflect on their commitment of time and services to social services.”  Certainly, an important consideration, but one that should pale in comparison to the duty we have to render proper worship and honor to God for His own sake and for the sanctification and salvation of our souls.

If you want to see what kind of creature Bishop Lynch is, read this.  A quote:

“Bishop Lynch accelerated the rate of “modernization” of the Diocese of St. Petersburg. Traditional Catholics report that he radically reduced the practice of exposition of the Blessed Sacrament in local parishes and he enthusiastically promoted sex instruction in Catholic schools. He permitted the continuance of Dignity-like Masses for homosexuals and welcomed New Ways Ministry into the diocese.”  [New Ways Ministry has been specifically condemned by the Vatican for heretical pro-homosexual propagandizing and ordered to disband, although there has been no disciplinary follow-up.]

Much more here.

There is no reason for a bishop, for an inheritor of the mantle of the Apostles, to live so lavishly. It is difficult to see how vacations in Bermuda and other posh spots correlates with the kind of evangelical poverty lived by the Apostles.  The great Saint and Bishop Charles Borromeo kept himself constantly poor, to the point of giving away his own furniture, to help plague victims in Milan.  And yet with all the reports of lavish living and rules-violating no-bid contracts, it takes great temerity for Bishop Lynch to lecture pro-lifers about the amount of consideration they have for “social services.”  Is there any more typically elitist liberal attitude than this?

Bishop Robert Lynch is a protege’, along with Cardinal Roger Mahony, of Cardinal Bernadin, he who had the Chicago “Gay” Men’s Chorus sing at his wake as a sort of final parting shot to the faithful. I pray……I PRAY…..these men are wrong in their exuberance over Pope Francis.  Bishop Lynch points to all that is so very wrong with the American episcopate, especially that part derived from the McCarrick-Bernadin cadre. It seems so very far removed from the example of the great Saints and Apostles who preceded them.

Comments

1. Don - November 14, 2013

I notice you managed to work Francis into this. Francis has nothing to do with Lynch (or the now gone or soon to be gone messes in Rochester and Albany NY either). Yet Francis gets a mention by you in this sad story.

May 2016, two-and-a-half more years and Lynch hits the mandatory retirement age. If Francis is still Pope he will replace this man with someone good, as he has done in several dioceses in the US already in his short time as Supreme Pontiff.

Peace.

JMJ

tantamergo - November 14, 2013

“Work Francis into this?” It was Bishop Lynch commenting on how excited he is about Pope Francis that caused Michael to do the video! Be that as it may, all I said is that I hope these men are wrong in their excitement, because I think they’re excited for reasons that will be deleterious to souls.

2. RC - November 14, 2013

Is there any word as to when we in the Ft. Worth Diocese will be getting a new bishop?

tantamergo - November 14, 2013

Not that I know of. It’s been taking the Vatican on average about 1 1/2 years to fill vacant sees, so it could be several more months, yet.

David - November 16, 2013

Fort Worth has been vacant for 14 months, and I’m sure the Vatican and the Papal Nuncio are taking the time to find the right “fit”. Finding the right “fit” is important.

Honestly, I’m glad Rochester (NY) got a bishop before Fort Worth, but Fort Worth is probably close to getting a bishop, even though Portland (Maine) has been without a bishop longer.

I pray that two priests I knew in my college days of the early 1990’s (both are from the Austin Diocese and are known for orthodoxy – one in particular led me in my reversion story) are on the “short-list” for Fort Worth, but for all I know there could be 25 priests (or even some current bishops) being considered from all over the United States.

In my own opinion, I do feel whoever becomes the next Bishop of Fort Worth will have big shoes to fill. Bishop Vann did a good job, particularly with pro-life and vocations. For the record, I belonged to a parish in the Fort Worth Diocese from 1995-2000, and the bishop before Vann I thought in my own opinion just warmed a chair, and I know my old pastor had some run-ins with Bishop Delaney).

Here’s another thing…since Fort Worth has a large Hispanic population, I would think the Vatican would appoint a bishop (like Vann) who speaks Spanish fluently. The two priests I pray that are on the “short-list” are also bilingual, and both give good homilies that are not about “preaching the status quo, and let’s get the congregation out of here in one hour.”

Again, none of us will know until Pope Francis I makes the announcement.

tantamergo - November 18, 2013

It took 20 months to find a replacement for Bishop Ochoa in El Paso. It may be a while before FW gets a bishop.

3. Blaine - November 15, 2013

Looks like I will be having some fun making a mess when I move to the Diocese of St. Petersburg this winter.

4. Lissa - November 15, 2013

I live in Rochester Diocese, and grew up in Albany Diocese. Praying.

David - November 16, 2013

Lissa, I prayed for many months that the Diocese of Rochester would get a good, solid bishop. Clark was there way too long, and did quite a bit of damage (no joke – Rochester was in the shape Saginaw Michigan was in prior to the arrival of Bishop Carlson in 2004. Many Michigan Catholics would purposely drive to parishes in the Diocese of Lansing and Gaylord prior to Carlson’s arrival).

Lissa, I was glad to hear last week that Bishop Salvatore Matano is coming to Rochester. Matano seems like a wise choice – let the housecleaning begin.

Lissa, I’m also praying for the Albany Diocese. I’ve visited Albany a few times in the past, and like Clark, Hubbard has been there way too long (keep in mind that Clark and Hubbard were both Jadot appointments). I expected a co-adjutor to be appointed for Albany prior to Hubbard’s 75th birthday, but that didn’t happen. I do hope that Hubbard’s papers are expedited – much like Clark’s were.

Lissa, I pray that Albany gets a new bishop who is strong on orthodoxy – maybe Bishop Walterschied (who is an auxilary in Pittsburgh – I remember him as a parish priest in the hometown of my relatives) will be given his own See, or someone like Bishop Paprocki (who is currently in Springfield, Illinois) will be assigned. However, none of us will know until Pope Francis I makes the announcement.

5. Hannah - November 15, 2013

I pray for the soul of this man. God help us.

6. Pat Buchanan on the Church’s “new direction” | A Blog for Dallas Area Catholics - November 15, 2013

[…]  Bishop Cupich is certainly part of the progressive sect of bishops who anticipate Pope Francis "swinging the pendulum back" to the disastrous days of the 60s and […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry